Lasith Malinga and Dinesh Chandimal set to miss limited-overs fixtures against India

In seven games of BPL 2017, the pacer has managed only six wickets at a dismal economy of over eight and a bowling average of 36.

Lasith Malinga
Sri Lankan cricketer Lasith Malinga. (Photo by LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI/AFP/Getty Images)

Dinesh Chandimal and Lasith Malinga have been stalwarts for Sri Lanka in international cricket. The Lankans have clinched several contests on the back of some brilliant performances by the veterans. Dinesh Chandimal, Sri Lankan Test skipper, has been in prime form in the ongoing Test series. Just recently, he notched up his highest Test score of 164 against India at the Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi.

On the contrary, Lasith Malinga, Sri Lankan gun bowler for several years, has blown hot and cold in recent times. He is currently plying his trade in the Bangladesh Premier League, playing for the Rangpur Riders. However, thus far, he hardly has been able to make an impact. In seven games, the pacer has managed only six wickets at a dismal economy of over eight and a bowling average of 36.


Malinga’s horrendous run for Lanka

Malinga also disappointed in the ODIs when India toured Sri Lanka in July. In five games, the fast-bowler could only manage three wickets at a dismal average of 81. Subsequently, he was evicted for the Pakistan series. The One Day International series between India and Sri Lanka commences on 10th December at Dharamshala, Himachal Pradesh.

It will be followed by a T20I series between the rivals. However, as per reports in Cricbuzz, both Chandimal and Malinga might not be considered for the limited-overs squads. Asela Gunaratne and Nuwan Pradeep are most likely to make a comeback in the squads. Thissara Perera will take over the leadership from Upul Tharanga in the limited-overs fixtures.

Sri Lanka have been steamrolled in their erstwhile ODI and T20I series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates. Against India, they will look to churn out some decent performances and hopefully give India a run for their money.

Here’s the likely squad: Thisara Perera (c), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga De Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep