Stats: Captains fastest to 1000 ODI runs

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Team India skipper Virat Kohli is the new record man in the world of cricket. During the third ODI of the England tour to India, Kohli entered the record books yet again. The Indian skipper surely has developed the knack of getting into the record sheets. During the course of the Indian innings in the match, Kohli went past the 1000-run landmark as captain in ODI cricket.

Albeit Virat Kohli took over as the Indian captain in the limited overs cricket recently, he had led India before in the absence of the then regular skipper MS Dhoni. Kohli became the fastest to 1000 runs as Captain in ODI cricket history. The superman from India reached the coveted milestone in his 17th innings as captain.


En route his knock of 55 in the losing cause in the Kolkata ODI, Virat Kohli achieved the distinction. He broke the record held by South African skipper AB de Villiers. The dynamic batsman had taken a total of 18 innings to complete his 1000 runs as captain back in 2013. At the number three spot in the list is young New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson.

The elegant batsman had taken 20 innings to reach the milestone last year. It was in the 2015-16 that Williamson had taken over as the full-time captain of the Kiwi team. England’s Alastair Cook also finds a mention in the elite group of players. Cook, who now continues to play only Test cricket for England, had assumed the captaincy duties of the limited-overs team after Andrew Strauss quit the post in 2011.

Also read- Stats: Ravindra Jadeja achieves a rare ODI career double

Cook needed 21 innings to complete 1000 runs in ODIs as captain. Alastair Cook no longer plays the limited formats of the game. The current limited overs English skipper Eoin Morgan is also in the list with 23 innings for his 1000 runs as captain. He had achieved this feat in 2015.

1. Virat Kohli – 17 innings (2017)

2. AB de Villiers – 18 innings (2013)

3. Kane Williamson – 20 innings (2016)

4. Alastair Cook – 21 innings (2012)

5. Sourav Ganguly – 22 innings (2000)

6. Chris Gayle – 23 innings (2009)

7. Eoin Morgan – 23 innings (2015)