Stats: Most consecutive ODI series/tournaments/one-off matches with at least one century

Stats: Most consecutive ODI series/tournaments/one-off matches with at least one century

Rohit's 137* helped the visitors gun down the chase of 269 runs with utter ease.

England v India - 1st ODI: Royal London One-Day Series
Rohit Sharma of India. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

If Kuldeep Yadav becoming their nemesis was not enough, England are left dealing with the sizzling form of Rohit Sharma in the limited overs. He steered India past the score of 268 runs last night with an authoritative ton, his 18th in ODIs and remained unbeaten on 137. The stylish opener has been in sizzling touch in the 50-overs format of late and has broken the record of his skipper Virat Kohli of scoring at least a century in consecutive ODI series.

Rohit has crossed the three-figure mark at least once in the last 7 ODI series including the tournaments and one-off matches. It is no surprise that he is being hailed as one of the best batsmen in the coloured clothing. Since 2017 there is no ODI series in which the Hitman hasn’t raised his bat with the helmet off which proves why India has become a force to reckon with in the ODIs are showing stars in the daylight to many teams.

Who else are there in the list?

Rohit Sharma is followed by none other than Virat Kohli who is another batsman in the Indian batting line-up who leaves the fans mesmerized with his prowess. During his dream run in 2011-12, Kohli had smashed a century in 6 consecutive ODI series and has never been out of form since then. He made every opportunity count to seal his place in the side and has eventually become the leader of the pack now.

No list could end without the name of Sachin Tendulkar in it. He served the Indian cricket for close to 24 years and has experienced purple patch many times. In the 2000-01 season, he went to pummel centuries in five back-to-back series to announce a new era in Indian cricket.

Hashim Amla and Gary Kirsten have also achieved a similar feat and are the only batsmen apart from Indians in the top five on this list.

Most consecutive ODI series with at least one century (series/tournaments/one-off matches):

Player Country Number of Series Span
Rohit Sharma India 7 2017-2018
Virat Kohli India 6 2011-2012
Gary Kirsten South Africa 5 1996
Sachin Tendulkar India 5 2000-2001
Hashim Amla South Africa 5 2010-2011

[interaction id=”5b470e0977f0ec280c57a828″]

Follow CricTracker for latest cricketing news and developments