Shreyas Iyer slams 29 runs off one over; becomes most conceded over in IPL history

Shreyas Iyer slams 29 runs off one over; becomes most conceded over in IPL history

It is certainly one over that young Shivam Mavi will be hoping to forget.


Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer plays a shot. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Indian Premier League offers a tremendous platform for the youngsters to showcase their skills through their performance. It was young Shreyas Iyer who had the added responsibility of leading his side when underperforming Gautam Gambhir stepped down from the leadership role. Iyer played a superb knock of unbeaten knock batting first and helped side his post a massive total with the help of Colin Munro and young Prithvi Shaw.

However, in the last over of the innings, another youngster came in the firing line of Iyer. Shivam Mavi, the fast-bowler who helped India clinch the U19 World Cup had bowled well before he came to bowl the final over. With his accurate yorker, Mavi had sent Kiwi batsman Colin Munro back to the pavilion.

Most expensive over of IPL 2018 

When Dinesh Karthik trusted Mavi to bowl the final over of the innings, neither Mavi nor Karthik would’ve thought that over will become one of the most expensive over of the 2018 edition of the tournament. Iyer was batting 65 and started the over with consecutive sixes. Mavi then deceived Iyer with a slower delivery which saw Glenn Maxwell getting run out trying to run a bye. However, the carnage was far from over for KKR and Mavi.

Iyer smashed two more sixes in the over and hit a four in the over while Mavi missed his line and length to bowl an extra delivery. Mavi gave away 29 runs in the over with DD posting 219 runs on the board. The over became the most expensive over in the 11th edition of the tournament.

The other overs which have been costly for the sides came from RCB’s Umesh Yadav, SRH’s Rashid Khan and DD’s Amit Mishra who have been punished by the bowlers.

Most expensive overs in IPL 2018

29 by Shivam Mavi v DD, Delhi

27 by Umesh Yadav v RR, Bengaluru

27 by Rashid Khan v KXIP, Mohali

24 by A Mishra v KXIP, Mohali

[interaction id=”5ae32dcfe061276617303da4″]

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with