Stats: Fastest to 200 sixes in International cricket

Fewest innings taken to hit 200 sixes in International cricket.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma of India. (Photo by Matthew Lewis-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

Rohit Sharma scored his 11th ODI century with a well-composed innings against Bangladesh after missing out twice earlier in this Champions Trophy against Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Keeping down his shots through the innings, Rohit made maximum out of it and finally hit a six on 96 to bring up his century. He remained unbeaten by scoring 123 off 129 balls and was awarded the Man of the Match for his crucial contribution that helped his side on their way to the final.

The six that brought up the century was the only six Rohit hit during his innings and it was his 200th six in the International cricket. Thus he became only the 6th Indian and the 22nd player overall to hit 200 sixes across all formats at the International level. He needed just 242 innings to hit 200 sixes; the 2nd fewest by any player.


Shahid Afridi was the fastest player to hit 200 sixes in International cricket taking only 214 innings for striking that many maximums. Among the previous 5 Indians who hit 200 sixes, MS Dhoni was the fastest as he hit those in 296 innings.

The recent additions to the 200 International sixes list are Eoin Morgan and Martin Guptill who took 249 and 252 innings respectively and are standing right behind Rohit Sharma in the fastest to 200 sixes list.

Talking about the players who have taken the most innings to hit 200 International sixes, the batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar is at the top as he needed 591 innings to plant those. Another legendary batsman, Jacques Kallis of South Africa hit his 200th six at International level in his 523rd inning, the other player along with Sachin to have played 500 and more innings to hit 200 sixes.

Fewest innings taken to hit 200 sixes in International cricket:

Player Team Innings taken for 200 International sixes Matches Innings Runs Sixes
Shahid Afridi Pakistan / Asia XI / ICC World XI 214 523 507 11185 476
Rohit Sharma India 242 240 242 7983 200
Eoin Morgan England / Ireland 249 268 264 8040 224
Martin Guptill New Zealand 252 254 291 9892 237
Chris Cairns New Zealand / ICC World XI 262 279 299 8273 240
Shane Watson Australia 273 307 334 10950 245
MS Dhoni India / Asia XI 296 456 460 15423 320
Brendon McCullum New Zealand 302 432 474 14676 398
Yuvraj Singh India / Asia XI 330 398 387 11699 251
Chris Gayle West Indies / ICC World XI 331 422 493 17954 434


(Stats as on June 15th, 2017)