Stats: KL Rahul records his 6th consecutive fifty-plus score in Test cricket

With this fifty, Rahul equalled Indian record for fifty-plus scores in 6 consecutive innings in Test cricket held jointly by Gundappa Viswanath and Rahul Dravid.

KL Rahul
Indian cricketer Lokesh Rahul plays a shot. (Photo by LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI/AFP/Getty Images)

Indian’s decision to bring back KL Rahul soon after recovering from injury and illness did pay off as the right-hander struck a fifty in the first session of the 2nd Test match at Colombo’s SSC Ground. This was Rahul’s 6th fifty-plus score in as many innings in Test format, a reason why Virat Kohli backed the opener to come good ahead of the match.

With this fifty, Rahul equalled Indian record for fifty-plus scores in 6 consecutive innings in Test cricket held jointly by Gundappa Viswanath and Rahul Dravid. Interestingly, all the three players rose in the ranks after representing Karnataka in the Indian domestic cricket.


Viswanath accomplished this feat between 1977 and 1978 where he hit 5 in a row in Australian tour in the 1977-78 season and followed it with a fifty in his first innings of the away Test series against Pakistan. Dravid hit 3 fifties in 3 innings by the end of 1997 against Sri Lanka at home and followed it with 3 consecutive fifties against Australia in the 1998 home series in March.

Four other Indian players have scored fifty plus scores in five consecutive innings all of them before the 2000s. This meant Rahul is the only Indian to hit fifty-plus scores in 5 or more consecutive Test innings since 2000. He now has a chance to equal the world record for most fifty-plus scores in most consecutive innings in Test cricket jointly held by 5 players.

Most consecutive fifty-plus scores by Indians in Test cricket:

Player 50s Runs Inns No Opposition Ground Start Date
Gundappa Viswanath 6 59 1 Australia Melbourne 30-Dec-1977
54 3 Australia Melbourne 30-Dec-1977
79 2 Australia Sydney 7-Jan-1978
89 2 Australia Adelaide 28-Jan-1978
73 4 Australia Adelaide 28-Jan-1978
145 2 Pakistan Faisalabad 16-Oct-1978
Rahul Dravid 6 92 1 Sri Lanka Nagpur 26-Nov-1997
93 1 Sri Lanka Mumbai 3-Dec-1997
85 3 Sri Lanka Mumbai 3-Dec-1997
52 1 Australia Chennai 6-Mar-1998
56 3 Australia Chennai 6-Mar-1998
86 2 Australia Kolkata 18-Mar-1998
KL Rahul 6 90 1 Australia Bengaluru 4-Mar-2017
51 3 Australia Bengaluru 4-Mar-2017
67 2 Australia Ranchi 16-Mar-2017
60 2 Australia Dharamsala 25-Mar-2017
51* 4 Australia Dharamsala 25-Mar-2017
 52* 1 Sri Lanka Colombo (SSC) 3-Aug-2017
Sunil Gavaskar 5 97 3 Pakistan Lahore 27-Oct-1978
111 1 Pakistan Karachi 14-Nov-1978
137 3 Pakistan Karachi 14-Nov-1978
205 1 West Indies Mumbai 1-Dec-1978
73 3 West Indies Mumbai 1-Dec-1978
Dilip Vengsarkar 5 164* 2 Australia Mumbai 15-Oct-1986
57 2 Sri Lanka Kanpur 17-Dec-1986
153 2 Sri Lanka Nagpur 27-Dec-1986
166 1 Sri Lanka Cuttack 4-Jan-1987
96 2 Pakistan Chennai 3-Feb-1987
Sanjay Manjrekar 5 113* 4 Pakistan Karachi 15-Nov-1989
76 1 Pakistan Faisalabad 23-Nov-1989
83 3 Pakistan Faisalabad 23-Nov-1989
218 1 Pakistan Lahore 1-Dec-1989
72 1 Pakistan Sialkot 9-Dec-1989
Navjot Singh Sidhu 5 106 1 England Chennai 11-Feb-1993
79 2 England Mumbai 19-Feb-1993
61 1 Zimbabwe Delhi 13-Mar-1993
82 1 Sri Lanka Colombo (SSC) 27-Jul-1993
104 3 Sri Lanka Colombo (SSC) 27-Jul-1993


(Stats as on August 3, 2017)