Stats: Pakistan players with most centuries in T20 cricket

Four cricketers have scored a hundred in the ongoing National T20 Cup.

Ahmed Shehzad
Ahmed Shehzad. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Opening batsman Ahmed Shehzad scored his fourth hundred in T20 cricket in the semi-finals of the National T20 tournament 2017 in Pakistan. During his 103-run unbeaten knock, he became the only batsman from Pakistan to score four centuries in the shortest format of the game. The opener is also the only batsman from his nation to score a hundred in all three formats of the game.

Shehzad has been in and out of the national team in recent times, especially in the 50-over format due to consistent failures. But he is a key member of the T20 side for his country, after a good series against World XI which toured Pakistan to mark the return of international cricket to the country for the first time, since the Lahore attacks on the Lankan team bus. He is currently working really hard on his batting technique and trying to figure out the shortcomings with help of former Pakistan cricketers.


Most T20 centuries by a Pakistani cricketer

Shehzad overcame many fellow country-mates while achieving the landmark ton, including the likes of Mukhtar Ahmed, Kamran Akmal and Khurram Manzoor who all have scored three hundreds each in T20 cricket. It is also a share of coincidence that all the four cricketers have scored a hundred in the ongoing National T20 Cup. Shehzad is also the only one in the charts to have a T20 international century to his name, which he scored against Bangladesh in 2014.

Most centuries in Twenty20 cricket by Pakistan players:

4 – Ahmed Shehzad

3 – Mukhtar Ahmed

3 – Kamran Akmal

3 – Khurram Manzoor

(All the four scored one each in the ongoing National T20 Cup)

The 26-year-old Pakistani opener is also the only batsman in the world to score more than one hundred in T20 knockouts or playoffs. He has overall scored three hundreds in domestic T2o games in Pakistan and all of them have come in the knockout stages of the tournament.

Details of his 3 hundred in T20 cricket:

113* – for Barisal Burners against DurontoRajshahiin Bangladesh Premier League 2012 Semis

107 – for Lahore Lions against Bahawalpur Stags in Faysal Bank T20 Cup 2012 Semis

104* – for Lahore Blues against FATA in National Bank T20 2017 Semis