Stats: Soumya Sarkar scores an unbeaten double century with 16 sixes in a DPL game

All the major stats and records created by Soumya Sarkar and Jahurul Islam for Abahani Limited.

Soumya Sarkar
Soumya Sarkar. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Soumya Sarkar’s unbeaten double century in the Dhaka Premier League game powered his team Abahani Limited to their 20th DPL title. Abahani needed to win the game played on the last day of the tournament against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club to top the Super League and claim the DPL title. Sarkar paired up with Jahurul Islam to share 312 for the first wicket during the chase of 318 runs which was completed with 17 balls to spare. Soumya finished with 208* off 153 balls with 14 fours and 16 maximums while Jahurul scored a 128-ball 100.

Here are the major stats and records created by Soumya and Jahurul for Abahani Limited:

1 – Soumya Sarkar became the first player from Bangladesh to score a double century in the List A cricket history. Raqibul Hasan’s 190 for the Mohammedan Sporting Club against Abahani Limited in the 2017 DPL was the previous highest individual score in List A by a Bangladesh player.


16 – Number of sixes Soumya Sarkar hit during his unbeaten 208-run knock; the joint 3rd most by any player in a List A innings. D’Arcy Short hit as many as 23 sixes during the 2018 JLT One-Day Cup game while Gerrie Snyman smashed 17 maximums for Namibia in the 2007 WCL game against UAE. Rohit Sharma, AB de Villiers and Chris Gayle hit 16 sixes apiece in an ODI inning between 2013 and 2015.

208* – Soumya’s unbeaten 208 is now the highest individual score in List A history while chasing. Travis Head’s 202 for South Australia during the 2015/16 Matador Cup against Western Australia was the previous highest individual score in a List A chase. Kamran Akmal’s 200 for WPDA against Habib Bank Limited in 2018 is the only other List A double ton while chasing.

312 – The opening partnership of 312 between Sarkar and Jahurul is the maiden triple century stand while chasing in List A cricket for any wicket. The previous highest List A partnership during a run-chase is the unbeaten 298-run opening stand between Khurram Manzoor and Shan Masood for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa during the 2018 National Cup game against Punjab while chasing 298.

312 – The 312-run stand between Sarkar and Jahurul is the first ever 300-run partnership in Bangladesh List A cricket for any wicket. The previous highest was 290 by Mahbubul Karim and Dhiman Ghosh pair for the 3rd wicket also while chasing. The duo recorded it during the 2007 National Cricket League game for Chittagong against Rajshahi.

318 – The target of 318 successfully chased down by Abahani Limited in this game is the 2nd highest successful chase in List A history for the loss of only one wicket. India chased down 360 against Australia during the 2013 Jaipur ODI by losing only one wicket. Had Jahurul held on till the last, Abahani would have recorded the first-ever 300+ chase in List A cricket without losing a wicket.