Steve Smith rules Australian cricket awards night

Steve Smith rules Australian cricket awards night

Steve Smith rules Australian cricket awards night: Steve Smith has been the shining star in Australian cricket in 2014, be it his brilliance throughout the year with the bat or the manner in which he responded to the job of captaincy when it came to him following injury to regular skipper Mitchell Clarke everything has been commendable. And once you have a year of dominance in international cricket rewards do come in lots. So did happen and on the night when the Australian cricket awards were declared in Sydney the name Steve Smith remained common while the titles changed.

The biggest outline of them all being him declared the winner of Alan Border Medal. It is the highest cricketing award an Aussie can achieve for excellence throughout all formats of the game in a year, as the assessment considers all the three formats with more weightage given to the toughest Test cricket. His unstoppable form with the bat against India in the recently concluded Border Gavaskar Trophy which included 4 centuries and 3 of them as skipper played the major role in him winning the Test Player of the year award over opener David Warner who had a fantastic year in test cricket as well only to finish four votes ahead of the later.

For the most prestigious Alan Border Medal though there were others in line but Smith made a clear edge over them with 243 votes, Warner who was second secured 175 votes and Mitchell Johnson winner of the award in 2014 was third with total 126 votes.

As the year 2014 began, nobody would have betted for Smith to be declared the Australian ODI Player of the Year but the way he has played his cricket in recent months and continues to do so even in the on-going Carlton Mid tri-series. Form not breaking into the ODI playing XI to winning the player of the year, one can sum up the progress this young man has made in the year.

The only award that Smith failed to collect was the T20 Player of the year. Glenn Maxwell the attacking middle order batsman won the T20 player of the award beating Aaron Finch by 9 votes.
Smith on winning the test player of the year award was asked to rate the innings in the year he thought was the best from him and he said, “I think the first test in South Africa probably wins, the best pace attack in the world and to get a hundred at Centurion against the attack was outstanding,”
On the way the team has been playing in recent matches and series Smith said, “I think we are doing really well at the moment, we are certainly heading in the direction we want to head, so I couldn’t be happier with the way the boys are going.”

The Australian test and now ODI skipper in recon Smith on the response the batsmen has given to the challenges put ahead of them and the character that they have shown said, “One thing that really stood out to me before Sydney, I wanted the top 6 to all stand up. For all of the top 6 to get past 50 for the first time in test history was absolutely remarkable.”

Australian Cricket Awards:

  • Alan Border Medal – Steve Smith
  • Test Player of the Year – Steve Smith
  • ODI Player of the Year – Steve Smith
  • T20 Player of the Year – Glenn Maxwell
  • Domestic Player of the year – Jason Behrendorff
  • Young Cricketer of the year – Sean Abbott
  • Belinda Clarke Award – Meg Lanning