Stuart Binny dropped from Karnataka Ranji squad for Maharashtra game

Stuart Binny dropped from Karnataka Ranji squad for Maharashtra game

Karnataka drew both the games against Mumbai and Vidarbha this season.

Stuart Binny
Stuart Binny. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Indian all-rounder Stuart Binny found himself to be out of favour of the selectors as he was ignored for Karnataka’s next Ranji Trophy assignment against Maharashtra starting Wednesday in Mysuru. The 34-year-old veteran failed to make the cut, thanks to his poor run the tournament so far.

Binny, who holds the record of India’s best bowling performance of 6 wickets for 4 runs in the ODIs but hasn’t played for the national side for over two years now, has managed just 53 runs in four innings in Ranji Trophy this season and has a solitary wicket for 70 runs. Also in the two Vijay Hazare Trophy games preceding the Ranji matches, Binny scored one run and took one wicket.

Stuart should practise more, says chief selector

“Binny is out of form. We don’t want his rough patch (from the Vijay Hazare Trophy) to continue throughout the season. He should practise and get back into the groove, and then we will consider him for selection. But he’s not out of the system. We will require his services when he’s in form,” chairman of the selection committee Raghuram Bhat was quoted as saying by Sportstar Live.

Both the matches that Karnataka have played in the tournament so far were drawn (against Mumbai in Belagavi and against Vidarbha in Nagpur).

Skipper Vinay Kumar, who missed the match against Mumbai because of an injury, will return as the captain for the next game. Kumar’s deputy Shreyas Gopal led them in the match against Mumbai.

Among the other changes in the squad is the addition of Devdutt Padikal and Abhishek Reddy. Shishir Bhavane has also been omitted and Bhat said it was because of his poor form. He backed Devdutt saying the latter is in form and also a brilliant fielder.

“This season, we have been monitoring youngsters closely; we want to give in-form players a chance,” the chief selector said.

Karnataka squad: Vinay Kumar (C), Shreyas Gopal (Vice-captain), Devdutt Padikal, Ronit More, D Nischal, KV Siddharth, Kaunain Abbas, Sharath Srinivas, Liyan Khan, BR Sharath, J. Suchith, Prasidh Krishna, A Mithun Abhishek Reddy, Pavan Deshpande

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on