Stuart Binny named Assam's assistant coach for the upcoming domestic season

Stuart Binny named Assam’s assistant coach for the upcoming domestic season

Ajay Ratra is the head coach of the team.

Stuart Binny
Stuart Binny. (Photo by PRAKASH SINGH/AFP via Getty Images)

The Assam Cricket Association on Saturday (18 September) announced Stuart Binny as the assistant coach for the senior state side. Earlier, the former India all-rounder announced his retirement from cricket, before the start of the Ranji season 2021-22. Binny hadn’t given any hint of donning the coach’s hat in his retirement post.

Currently, Ajay Ratra is the head coach of Assam for this domestic season and Binny has been roped in as his deputy. Earlier BCCI announced November 4 as the start date to kick off the domestic season with Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. It will be followed by Vijay Hazare Trophy, and Ranji Trophy. Along with Ratra, Binny will be involved with the team in all three domestic competitions.

Devajit Saikia the secretary of the Assam Cricket Association (ACA) confirmed the names of coaches and support staff for respective teams during the 2021-22 Ranji season. Along with naming Ratra and Binny as the head and assistant coach respectively, Saikia also confirmed Salil Sinha as the other assistant coach. Sinha was seen donning the same role last year as well.

In a refreshing change, the ACA also announced the appointment of a mental strengthening coach for the senior women and Under-19 women cricket teams. “We have already appointed Tribenee Bhattacharyya as the mental strengthening coach for our senior and U-19 women’s cricket teams. If requires we can take the service of similar coaches for our men’s team also in future,” said Saikia according to The Sentinel.

Assam Cricket association all set to host three BCCI tournaments

The ACA is gearing up to host three BCCI affiliated tournaments starting with Syed Mushtaq Ali Cricket Tournament from November 4 to 9. It will be followed by Under-25 men’s cricket and senior women’s T20 cricket. The men’s competition will be first played from November 17 to 26 followed by the women’s T20 championship in February. The ACA have also prepared four stadiums for the various matches to be staged during the three competitions.

The list of Head coaches and assistant coaches for other state teams: U-25 (Men): Vivek Jaisimha (Head coach), Dhiraj Goswami, and Arlen Konwar. U-19 (Boys): Subhrajit Saikia (Head coach) and Souvik Das. U-16 (Boys): Connor Cecil Williams (Head coach) and RK Yadav. Senior Women: Maria Clare (Head coach) and Babu Ram Magor. U-19 (Girls): RB Inderjit (Head coach) and Situ Das.