Stuart broad picks Alastair Cook as the skipper in his All-Time XI

Stuart broad picks Alastair Cook as the skipper in his All-Time XI

Stuart Broad
Stuart Broad. (Photo by Tom Shaw/Getty Images)

England pacer Stuart Broad has picked his All-Time XI for the Lord’s Cricket Ground. As a part of its latest series the Home of Cricket has been asking some of the best servants of the game among those who have retired and those still actively a part to name an XI they believe can be termed the all-time greatest team. The criteria players have set is they either go for the players they have played against or observed their game from close quarters. Stuart Broad named his England Test skipper Alastair Cook as the captain of the team.

Cook will obviously also have the opener’s responsibility and he has former Aussie opener Matthew Hayden as his opening partner. For the most important No.3 batting position he decided to go with the most successful Australian skipper Ricky Ponting. Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar takes his preferred No.4 slot in the batting order; then there is another legend completing the best batting trio in the game, West Indian Brian Lara.

For the seam bowling allrounder’s position, Broad would have had little doubt in determining that it had to be the South African great Jacques Kallis who has unparallel numbers in both the departments of the game and is certainly the best allrounder of the generation. His former England teammate Matthew Prior has the responsibility behind the wickets.

As far as the bowling department is concerned there is one of the most loved sons of New Zealand cricket Sir Richard Hadlee, the most successful leg-spinner to have graced the game Shane Warner is the only spinner in the team.

Also read- Watch: Peter Nevill takes a blow on the head from Hodge’s bat

The two other fast bowlers are also legends – the great Glenn McGrath who was an epitome of consistency and discipline and his partner is England fast bowler James Anderson who has defined the art of swing bowling in the longest format of the game in the last one decade or so.

Here is Stuart Broad’s All-Time XI:

Alastair Cook (C), Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Jacques Kallis, Matthew Prior (WK), Sir Richard Hadlee, Shane Warne (VC), Glenn McGrath, James Anderson