Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019-20: Round 1 - Review

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019-20: Round 1 – Review

A total of 6 games went without a result out of the 18 and a lot of other games saw the VJD method come into the picture to decide the result. 

Siddhesh Lad
Siddhesh Lad. (Photo Source: Hotstar)

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy’s 2019-20 edition kick-started with a lot of games getting abandoned by the rain gods intervention. A total of 6 games went without a result out of the 18 and a lot of other games saw the VJD method come into the picture to decide the result.

Siddhesh Lad this time chipped in with a masterful performance with the ball. The Mumbai all-rounder picked up five wickets in his 4 overs, giving away just 13 runs against Mizoram. Mizoram got bowled out for just 77 runs and in reply, Jay Gokul Bista’s half-century helped Mumbai win by 10 wickets.

Tamil Nadu downed Kerala in the south-Indian derby by 37 runs. Baba Aparajith and Mohammed chipped in with crucial cameos to help Tamil Nadu post 174 runs batting first. T Natarajan and Periyarswamy took three wickets each to restrict Kerala to just 137 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in the second innings.

VHT champions off to a flying start

Karnataka’s quest for another trophy began with a big win over Uttarakhand. Shreyas Gopal and Abhimanyu Mithun picked up three wickets each in the first innings as Uttarakhand could post just 132 runs for the loss of 6 wickets. Rohan Kadam and Devdutt Padikkal scored the fifties for Karnataka as they chased the total down by 9 wickets and 26 deliveries remaining.

In what was turning out to be a very close match, Hyderabad would consider themselves lucky to get away with a win. Batting first, they posted 149 runs on the board against Punjab with Akshath Reddy top-scoring for Hyderabad. The game was interrupted by rain after the 14th over of Punjab’s innings and they got strangled at 97/4, which gave Hyderabad a 2-run win by VJD method.

Here are the brief scores from all the games.

Brief Scores

Group A

Baroda vs Goa

Baroda: 149/9 in 20 overs (Swapnil Singh 50, Deepak Hooda 34; Lakshay Garg 2/27)

Goa: 152/6 in 19.4 overs (Suyash Prabhudesai 60; Atit Sheth 3/29)

Goa won by 4 wickets

Andhra Pradesh vs Bihar

Bihar: 97/7 in 20 overs (MD Rahmatullah 44; KV Sasikanth 3/20)

Andhra Pradesh: 98/0 in 11.5 overs (Hanuma Vihari 46*, Ashwin Hebbar 52*)

Andhra won by 10 wickets

Karnataka vs Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand: 132/6 in 20 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 39; Abhimanyu Mithun 2/20)

Karnataka: 133/1 in 15.4 overs (Rohan Kadam 67*, Devdutt Padikkal 53*)

Karnataka won by 9 wickets

Group B

Tripura vs Vidarbha

Tripura: 102/8 in 20 overs (Saurabh Das 30*; Darshan Nalkande 3/25)

Vidarbha: 103/1 in 12.3 overs (Faiz Fazal 54, Akshay Kolhar 45*)

Vidarbha won by 9 wickets

Kerala vs Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu: 174/5 in 20 overs (Baba Aparajith 35, M Mohammed 34*; Basil Thampi 3/49)

Kerala: 137/8 in 20 overs (Rohan Kunnummal 34; T Natarajan 3/25)

Tamil Nadu won by 37 runs

Manipur vs Rajasthan

Rajasthan: 171/4 in 20 overs (Manender Singh 77, Ankit Lamba 49; Sultan Karim 3/33)

Manipur: 74/9 in 20 overs (Priyojith Singh 55*; Tanveer Ul-Haq 4/7)

Rajasthan won by 97 runs

Group C

Himachal Pradesh vs Chandigarh

Chandigarh: 167/5 in 20 overs (Shivam Bhambri 106; Pankaj Jaiswal 2/40)

Himachal Pradesh: 84/4 in 11.3 overs (Prashant Chopra 40; Gurinder Singh 2/13)

Chandigarh won by 9 runs (VJD method)

Hyderabad vs Punjab

Hyderabad: 149/7 in 20 overs (Akshath Reddy 47, Tanmay Agarwal 42; Siddarth Kaul 3/44, Sandeep Sharma 3/11)

Punjab: 97/4 in 14 overs (Shubman Gill 48; Mehdi Hassan 1/11)

Hyderabad won by 2 runs (VJD method)

Maharashtra vs Railways

Maharashtra: 104/6 in 15 overs (Azim Kazi 44; Krishnakant Upadhyay 3/12)

Railways: 96/8 in 15 overs (Mukesh Choudhary 2/10)

Maharashtra won by 8 runs

Arunachal Pradesh vs Chhattisgarh

Arunachal Pradesh: 47/4 in 6 overs (Rahul Dalal 19)

Chhattisgarh: 52/1 in 5 overs (Shashank Chandrekar 32*)

Chhattisgarh won by 9 wickets

Group D

Haryana vs Meghalaya

(Match abandoned with a ball being bowled)

Assam vs Bengal

Bengal: 3/0 in 0.3 overs

(Match abandoned)

Pondicherry vs Madhya Pradesh

Madhya Pradesh: 3/0 in 0.4 overs

(Match abandoned)

Mizoram vs Mumbai

Mizoram: 77 all out in 19.3 overs (Taruwar Kohli 26; Siddesh Lad 5/13)

Mumbai: 78/0 in 8.1 overs (Jay Gokul Bista 54*)

Mumbai won by 10 wickets

Group E

Nagaland vs Saurashtra

(Nagaland: 69/6 in 16 overs (Jaydev Unadkat 2/10)

Saurashtra: 73/1 in 10.2 overs (Harvik Desai 22*, Kishar Parmar 20)

Saurashtra won by 9 wickets

Jharkhand vs Odisha

(Match abandoned with a ball being bowled)

Jammu & Kashmir vs Sikkim

(Match abandoned with a ball being bowled)

Gujarat vs Delhi

(Match abandoned with a ball being bowled)