Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019-20: Suryakumar Yadav to lead Mumbai in the tournament

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019-20: Suryakumar Yadav to lead Mumbai in the tournament

Mumbai will be without Shreyas Iyer in the tournament.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadav, the right-handed batsman will lead the Mumbai squad in India’s premier domestic tournament that will get kicked off from the 8th of November and final to be played on 1st December. Mumbai cricket team will be without the services of their top players, who are currently playing in the national squad.

Shreyas Iyer, who led Mumbai in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20 is away on national duty for the Bangladesh T20Is. So, Yadav has been picked up as the skipper of the team in the absence of their regular captain by the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA). They gave this information by announcing the whole squad on their website.

Indian domestic cricketers will be involved in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy after the conclusion of Deodhar Trophy 2019. The tournament consists of 38 participant teams taking part in it.

Yashashvi Jaiswal, Tushar Deshpande excluded

The Mumbai team does not feature young cricketer and top-order batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal, who hit the spotlight after scoring a double ton against Jharkhand in Vijay Hazare Trophy. He also became the youngest batsman to score a double in List A cricket. There are reports that the reason behind his absence from the squad is because he will be taking part in an age-group tournament.

Tushar Desphande, the joint second-highest wicket-taker in the previous Syed Mushtaq Ali season, has been axed. However, there is no reason explained behind the pacer’s exclusion from the squad.

The other players who made into the squad are Jay Bista, Aditya Tare, Sarfaraz Khan and Siddhesh Lad, whereas in bowling they have picked the experienced pacer Dhaval Kulkarni, spinner Shams Mulani, and Dhurmil Matkar. Also, the team will be coached by the former domestic cricketer Vinayak Samant.

Mumbai will open their campaign against Mizoram on 8th of November, followed by their encounters against Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Bengal, Meghalaya and Assam on 9th, 14th, 15th, and 17th November respectively.

Mumbai squad

Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Jay Bista, Aditya Tare (WK), Sarfaraz Khan, Jaideep Pardeshi, Siddhesh Lad, Shubham Ranjane, Shams Mulani, Parikshit Valsangkar, Raunaq Sharma, Dhaval Kulkarni, Kruthik Hangewadi, Deepak Shetty, Aquib Qureshi, Dhrumil Matkar.

[interaction id=”5da47ec85b2f78869081fe3f”]