Syed Mushtaq Ali Zonal T20 League 2018 – Day 2 Round up

Despite so many close shaves, the game of the day was played between Himachal Pradesh and Haryana.

Prashant Chopra
Prashant Chopra. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After two interesting games on the first day, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Zonal T20 League had 11 matches at the store for the fans on day 2. A lot of these games went pretty close and it really was an entertaining day for the cricket lovers. Some big teams like the Ranji Champions Vidarbha, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, and Rajasthan are off to a flyer.

Vidarbha is continuing its purple patch and registered a big win against Chattisgarh in the Central Zone group. Backed up by a breathtaking inning from Jitesh Sharma, Faiz Fazal’s men did a spectacular job. Jitesh Sharma’s 91 off 53 balls propelled them to 195 in their 20 overs. Shrikant Wagh and Akshay Wakhare’s incredible spells helped them restrict Chattisgarh to 147 in their 20 overs.


Mumbai pulled off a thriller against Gujarat and registered an imperative 5-wicket win against Gujarat. Dhruv Raval’s 34-ball 73 gave Gujarat a wonderful start to their innings, but unfortunately, his middle order mates didn’t compliment him the way he would’ve loved.

They registered 167 runs on the board in their 20 overs. A fifty from Jay Gokul Bista, followed by some wonderful cameos from Suryakumar Yadav, Shashank Singh, and Shivam Dubey helped them complete a thrilling run chase with 4 balls remaining.

Skipper Ambati Rayudu’s blazing innings helped Hyderabad register a thrilling win down in the South. Hyderabad 168 for the loss of seven wickets, thanks to a wonderful 31-ball 52 from Rayudu. In return, Kerala fell 10 runs short of their target. Sachin Baby’s 50-ball 79 went in vain as he failed to get any support from his fellow mates in the lineup.

Karnataka thump Goa by a handsome margin

After a hard-fought contest in the southern part, the other one turned out to be a one-sided one. Karnataka thumped Goa win absolute ease riding on Mayank Agarwal’s fifty and two incredible spells from Sreenath Aravind and Abhimanyu Mithun. After posting 172 runs on the board losing just seven wickets, Goa could only manage 123 runs losing 8 scalps. It was a comprehensive 49-run win for the former Ranji Champions.

Another cracker of a contest took place on the eastern side of the country between Assam and Tripura. Yashpal Singh and Smit Patel shined with the bat to help Tripura post a competitive 162 runs on board. As it turned out, Assam fell just eight runs short of their target despite some decent efforts coming from Sibsankar Roy and Amit Sinha.

Despite so many close shaves, the game of the day was played between Himachal Pradesh and Haryana. After posting 194 for the loss of two wickets thanks to a brilliant 99 from Prashanth Chopra, their bowlers stuttered. Haryana came agonizingly close and scored exactly 194 runs, which propelled a super over. Himachal Pradesh won the super over.

Brief Scores

Jammu & Kashmir v Services, North Zone

Jammu & Kashmir: 128 all out in 20 overs (Ian Chauhan 47; Diwesh Pathania 3/28)

Services: 131/1 in 16.5 overs (Ravi Chauhan 86*)

Haryana v Himachal Pradesh, North Zone

Himachal Pradesh: 194/2 in 20 overs (Prashanth Chopra 99, Paras Dogra 47)

Haryana: 194/8 in 20 overs (Harshal Patel 73,  Rahul Tewatia 42)

Match Tied; Himachal Pradesh won the one-over eliminator

Hyderabad v Kerala, South Zone

Hyderabad: 168/7 in 20 overs (Ambati Rayudu 52*)

Kerala: 158/7 in 20 overs (Sachin Baby 79; Ravi Kiran 3/28)

Andhra v Tamil Nadu, South Zone

Andhra: 119/7 in 20 overs (Krishnamoorthy Vignesh 2/17)

Tamil Nadu: 122/3 in 14.4 overs (Dinesh Karthik 57)

Karnataka v Goa, South Zone

Karnataka: 172/4 in 20 overs (Mayank Agarwal 55; Darshal Misal 3/27)

Goa: 123/8 in 20 overs (Abhimanyu Mithun 2/13, Sreenath Aravind 2/22)

Mumbai v Gujarat, Western Zone

Gujarat: 167/7 in 20 overs (Dhruv Raval 73; Dhawal Kulkarni 3/31)

Mumbai: 168/5 in 19.2 overs (Jay Gokul Bista 50; Piyush Chawla 2/29)

Maharashtra v Saurashtra, Western Zone

Saurashtra: 142/9 in 20 overs (Prerak Mankad 34; Jagdish Zopw 2/27)

Maharashtra: 138/7 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 41; Yuvraj Chudasama 2/26)

Vidarbha v Chattisgarh, Central Zone

Vidarbha: 195/7 in 20 overs (Jitesh Sharma 91)

Chattisgarh: 147/8 in 20 overs (Akshay Wakhare 2/22)

Rajasthan v Madhya Pradesh, Central Zone

Rajasthan: 156/5 in 20 overs (T N Dhillon 51)

Madhya Pradesh: 120 all out (Rajat Patidar 38; Chandrapal Singh 3/22)

Assam v Tripura, East Zone

Tripura: 162/5 in 20 overs (Yashpal Singh 56; Abu Nechim 3/20)

Assam: 154/8 in 20 overs (Amit Sinha 64; Ajoy Sarkar 3/31)

Bengal v Odisha, East Zone

Odisha: 157/5 in 20 overs (Rajesh Dhuper 90; Manoj Tiwary 2/23)

Bengal: 158/3 in 18.4 overs (Shreevats Goswami 79, Vivek Singh 64)

For more news and updates from the cricketing world, follow Crictracker