Syed Mushtaq Ali Zonal T20 League 2018 – Day 4 Round up

Mandeep Singh was the star for Punjab as he scored 84* in the chase.

Mandeep Singh
Mandeep Singh. (Photo Source: Cricbuzz)

The fourth day of the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament saw some straightforward results with the expected teams winning the game. The day was owned by Kedar Devdhar from Baroda who smashed a century against Gujarat which helped them post 175 while batting first. In response, Gujarat was always struggling in the chase and never threatened to gun down the target. In the end, they were bowled out for 139 runs in 18 overs with only Chirag Gandhi shining for them with a defiant half-century.

Chhattisgarh skipper Amandeep Khare led from the front with the bat scoring 90 runs off just 57 runs as his team scored 175 after 20 overs against Railways. His counterpart Mahesh Rawat also smashed an unbeaten half-century but was never supported by his teammates as they could only reach 150 well short of the target. Delhi, on the other hand, chased down the middling total posted by Haryana comfortably on the back of Dhruv Shorey‘s half-century who had played impeccable well in the final of the Ranji Trophy.


The clash between Odisha and Assam was the most talked about game as the former side defended a low total of 128 comprehensively. After being invited to bat first, Odisha huffed and puffed their way to 128 as none of their batsmen could play a decent knock after getting starts. However, the response from Assam was even more shocking as they were folded for just 77 in the 18th over. Prayash Singh and Abhishek Raut shared six wickets between and were also economical for their team.

Mandeep Singh leads the way for Punjab

Services, after opting to bat first, struggled their way to 140 as Manpreet Gony wreaked havoc in their camp and returned with the figures of 4/18. In reply, it was Mandeep Singh who led the way by scoring an unbeaten 84 run-knock off just 56 deliveries. He was well supported by Yuvraj Singh who paved his way to a run a ball 35 with a single four and a couple of sixes as Punjab registered their second victory in as many matches.

Jharkhand also registered a comfortable victory over Tripura by 24 runs after scoring 163 runs as the trend continued with the teams chasing losing most of the games so far. It was a low scoring affair between Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh with the latter side unable to do well in the shortest format of the game. The return of Suresh Raina couldn’t win them the game as they could only score 108 runs batting first. The score was easily chased down by MP as the opener Rajat Patidar remained unbeaten with a half-century to his name.

Mumbai’s woes continue

Mumbai is on their way to crash out of the tournament as they lost their second match after playing three games. They were surprisingly bowled out in the 20th over after being comfortably placed at 65/2 after 8 overs and somehow posted 130 runs. Robin Uthappa scored a calculated 52 off 36 deliveries opening the innings helping Saurashtra chase down the total easily with 16 balls spare. They are now second in the group only behind Baroda and look set to qualify for the next round.

Brief Scores

North Zone

Punjab vs Services

Services 140/9 in 20 overs (A Pachhara 37; M Gony 4/18)

Punjab 141/2 in 19.1 overs (M Singh 84*, Y Singh 35*)

Delhi vs Haryana

Haryana 153/6 in 20 overs (C Bishnoi 65; S Bhati 3/25)

Delhi 154/3 in 17 overs (D Shorey 59*, R Pant 39)

Central Zone

Chhattisgarh vs Railways

Chhattisgarh 175/5 in 20 overs (A Khare 90; A Mishra 2/30)

Railways 150/8 in 20 overs (M Rawat 61*; S Ahmed 3/27)

Madhya Pradesh vs Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh 108/7 in 20 overs (S Khan 20; A Sharma 2/22)

Madhya Pradesh 110/3 in 17 overs (R Patidar 51*)

West Zone

Mumbai vs Saurashtra

Mumbai 130 in 19.3 overs (A Tare 39, S Lad 38; S Sanandia 4/22)

Saurashtra 133/2 in 17.2 overs (R Uthappa 52; S Thakur 2/23)

Baroda vs Gujarat

Baroda 175/7 in 20 overs (K Devdhar 100, S Singh 44; P Chawla 3/45)

Gujarat 139 in 18 overs (C Gandhi 52; R Arothe 3/26)

East Zone

Assam vs Odisha

Odisha 128/9 in 20 overs (D Samantray 25; A Nechim 2/13)

Assam 77 in 17.2 overs (R Das 26; P Singh 3/6, A Raut 3/14)

Jharkhand vs Tripura

Jharkhand 163/6 in 20 overs (V Singh 43; G Singh 3/21)

Tripura 139/9 in 20 overs (S Patel 49; S Nadeem 2/18)