T10 League 2019: A look at all 8 teams after the player draft

Here's a look at how the eight teams are shaping up.

View : 12.5K

2 Min Read

Team Abu Dhabi
Team Abu Dhabi. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The superstars who are set to blow the roof down during the Abu Dhabi T10 League were announced today in a magnanimous draft ceremony. The annual draft list saw a total of as many as 110 players allocated to the eight franchises that included a plethora of who’s who of world cricket. The magnanimous draft ceremony held in the country’s capital allowed just three minutes to the franchises to select players that would decide their future during the course of the ten-day marquee event.

Here’s a look at how the eight teams are shaping up:

Northern Warriors: Defending champions, Northern Warriors, opted to fill their side with a Caribbean flavor. With two-time T20 World Cup-winning (2012 & 2016) captain, Darren Sammy already locked in as the icon player, the franchise proceeded to go with tearaway all-rounder Andre Russell. Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz has been locked in as their pace bowling spearhead.

Team Abu Dhabi: The newest addition to the T10 League, Team Abu Dhabi has also placed great importance on building up a strong bowling unit. Alongside Moeen Ali, who was locked in as the icon player, Team Abu Dhabi has sought the services of dynamic Sri Lankan opener, Niroshan Dickwella, New Zealand all-rounder, Corey Anderson, while the onus of spearheading the pace bowling attack has been laid on Pakistan’s Mohammad Amir and Harry Gurney. The team will be trained by former England coach Trevor Bayliss and the coach of the UAE, Dougie Brown.

Maratha Arabians: The Arabians opted for a balanced amalgamation of power-hitting and fast bowling attack. Tearaway Aussie and Kolkata Knight Riders opener Chris Lynn will be their icon player in a side that boasts of T20 legends like Sri Lanka’s 2014 WT20 winning captain Lasith Malinga and two-time T20 world champion, all-rounder Dwayne Bravo and the ever-explosive Chadwick Walton, making it one of the sides to beat in the tournament.

Deccan Gladiators: The Gladiators have banked on picking world-class all-rounders to make a core of their side. With Shane Watson already locked in as their icon player, the franchise owners have roped in the service of West Indies white-ball captain, Kieron Pollard. The bowling unit, on the other hand, will be led by Fawad Ahmed, Mason Crane, and UAE’s Zahoor Khan.

Karnataka Tuskers: The Tuskers, much like the Arabians, opted for a more balanced outfit. While Hashim Amla (icon player), Windies opener Evin Lewis, Marlon Samuels, and Johnson Charles will lead the batting unit, the bowling attack will boast of the likes of Nepal sensation Sandeep Lamichhane, England’s Pat Brown and slow left-arm orthodox spinner from the UAE, Ahmed Raza.

Delhi Bulls: The Delhi Bulls have acquired the services of the 2019 World Cup-winning captain, Eoin Morgan. The pulls have also roped in former Pakistan all-rounder and Guyana Amazon Warriors captain, Shoaib Malik to further boost their batting line that already consists of players like Mohammad Nabi, Kusal Perera, Paul Stirling, and Pakistan’s Aamer Yamin. Adil Rashid will lead the bowling unit that boasts of Dutchman Tobias Visee and USE’s fast bowler Ali Khan and the Pakistani duo of  Sohail Tanvir and  Mohammad Hasnain, making them a well-balanced unit, which on paper seems to have all bases covered.

Team Qalandar: The Qalandar’s had already roped in former Pakistani all-rounder, Shahid Afridi as their icon player. They have now proceeded to acquire the services of Afridi’s former teammate, Mohammad Hafeez, all-rounder Imad Wasim, Imran Nazir, and Faheem Ashraf besides also acquiring the services of dynamic opener Luke Ronchi. The bowling unit will be led by England’s Chris Jordan who will bring in a lot of experience and skills to the plate.

Bangla Tigers: Much like Team Qalandars, the Bangla Tigers have also opted to beef up their team with a plethora of power-hitters. Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera will serve as the icon player and will be joined by the likes of Andre Fletcher and South Africa’s Colin Ingram. The Tigers’ will kickstart their campaign against the Deccan Gladiators on November 16.

Here’s a clear look at all the teams

T10 League
T10 League. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store