T10 League 2019: Maratha Arabians crowned champions

T10 League 2019: Maratha Arabians crowned champions

"I will officially change my name to Mr Champion," DJ Bravo said after the victory.

Maratha Arabians
Maratha Arabians. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The T10 League 2019 has come to end with the Maratha Arabians crowned as the champions. After playing such wonderful cricket for the most part of the tournament, the Deccan Gladiators faltered under pressure. They couldn’t pull off any batting miracles as they did on Day 9 of the tournament in the previous two knockout games. As a result, they only managed to put up a small total on the board and lost the game by 8 wickets.

The Deccan Gladiators were asked to bat first by the opposition. However, the team kept losing wickets in the first five overs and was down to 36/4. Towards the end, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Asif Khan came up with small cameos of 23 and 25 runs respectively. But, these scores weren’t sufficient to put the team in a commanding position. Arabians’ skipper DJ Bravo picked up two wickets as the Gladiators were reduced to 87/8.

Chadwick Walton took the onus for the Maratha Arabians in the chase. He played a great knock and remained unbeaten on 51 off 26 balls while his partner Chris Lynn scored 16 runs. Small contributions from the other batsmen after this ensured that the side got over the line in only 7.2 overs. Migael Pretorius and Zahoor Khan were the two wicket-takers for the Gladiators.

But before the final, a game for the 3rd place was played between Bangla Tigers and Qalandars. Courtesy combined efforts from their batsmen, the Qalandars got to 109/3. With an unbeaten 30, Philip Salt was the highest scorer. But their bowling let them down once again. Andre Fletcher and Rilee Rossouw took the Qalandars off to a great start. While the former mustered 52 from 30 balls, the latter scored 31 runs. Thus, the team got over the line with 6 wickets to spare.

Brief scores of the matches played on Day 10 in the T10 League 2019:

Maratha Arabians vs Deccan Gladiators – Final

DG: 87/8 in 10 overs (Asif Khan 25*, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 23, DJ Bravo 2/16)

MA: 89/2 in 7.2 overs (Chadwick Walton 51*, Chris Lynn 16, Migael Pretorius 1/16)

Maratha Arabians won by 8 wickets.

Bangla Tigers vs Qalandars – 3rd Place Play-off

QLD: 109/3 in 10 overs (Philip Salt 30*, Dawid Malan 24, Prabath Jayasuriya 2/14)

BT: 113/4 in 9.4 overs (Andre Fletcher 52, Rilee Rossouw 31, Jordan Clark 1/18)

Bangla Tigers won by 6 wickets.