T10 League Season 2: Players and teams revealed

T10 League Season 2: Players and teams revealed

The inaugural edition of the T10 league was a runaway success.

T10 League
T10 League. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The second edition of the world’s only T10 League is set to get underway, and once again some of the biggest superstars in cricket have been roped in. The competition begins in November, for which the draft picks were completed last night in the UAE. The previous edition – which was also the inaugural edition – of the tournament was a huge success, with Kerala Kings emerging as winners.

This edition of the T10 league will see three new teams, while Team Sri Lanka will no longer be in the mix of things. This brings the total number of teams up to 8 as opposed to 6 from last year. The three new teams are Karachians, Rajputs, and Northern Warriors. The tournament will last 10 days, with the Sharjah Cricket Stadium hosting all the matches.

Chris Gayle goes to Kerala Kings

Monday’s draft followed a mini-draft in July, where teams retained their best players. Chris Gayle was the first player to be picked by defending champions Kerala Kings. The tournament has also been recognized by the ICC as the world’s first 10-over league.

“The T10 Cricket League is gaining ground with the formal recognition of the International Cricket Council and the interest shown by the stakeholders that encouraged us to add two new teams to the league,” Nawab Shaji Ul Mulk, chairman of the T10 Cricket League and T10 Sports Management, said.

“The team draw is a testimony to the growing popularity of not only the T10 Cricket League but also the game of cricket, which can now be played in less than two hours.

“This year’s T10 Cricket League will help expand and popularise the game of cricket further. We see this as a growing movement and I urge all to join this and help take the game further,” he added.

Here is the list of players that were picked last night:

Chris Gayle – Kerala Kings

Ben Cutting – Karachians

Morne Morkel – Bengal Tigers

Lasith Malinga – Maratha Arabians

Colin Munro – Pakhtoons

Tymal Mills – Rajputs

Mohammed Sami – Punjabi Legends

Ravi Bopara – Northern Warriors

Rovman Powell – Northern Warriors

Carlos Brathwaite – Rajputs

Zahir Khan – Punjabi Legends

Andre Fletcher – Pakhtoon

Amir Yamin – Bengal Tigers

James Vince – Maratha Arabians

Muhammad Nawaz – Karachians

Junaid Khan – Kerala Kings

Umar Akmal – Punjabi Legends

Liam Livingston – Maratha Arabians

Harry Gurney – Northern Warriors

Mohammed Nabi – Bengal Tigers

Dawid Malan – Karachians

Sandeep Lamicchane – Kerala Kings

Sohail Khan – Pakhtoon

Rahat Ali – Rajputs

Sharifuddin Ashraf – Pakhtoon

Mitchell McClenaghan – Punjabi Legends

Fawad Ahmed – Karachians

Samit Patel – Rajputs

Tom Curran – Kerala Kings

Chris Green – Northern Warriors

Brendan Taylor – Maratha Arabians

Kusal Perera – Bengal Tigers

Qais Ahmed – Rajputs

Sherfane Rutherford – Bengal Tigers

Chadwick Walton – Pakhtoon

Fabien Allen – Kerala Kings

Tom Moores – Punjabi Legends

Adam Lyth – Maratha Arabians

Obed McCoy – Northern Warriors

Isuru Udana – Karachians

Roelef van der Merwe – Maratha Arabians

Lendl Simmons – Northern Warriors

Niroshan Dickwella – Kerala Kings

Joe Clarke – Karachians

Ben Dunk – Rajputs

Shapoor Zadran – Pakhtoon

Kevon Cooper – Bengal Tigers

Anwar Ali – Punjabi Legends

Imran Nazir – Kerala Kings

Samiullah Shenwari – Karachians

Kharry Pierre – Northern Warriors

Najibullah Zadran – Maratha Arabians

Rayad Emrit – Bengal Tigers

Shan Masood – Rajputs

Gulbadin Naib – Pakhtoon

Jade Dernbach – Punjabi Legends

Ali Khan – Bengal Tigers

Cameron Delport – Pakhtoon

Peter Trego – Rajputs

Kennar Lewis – Northern Warriors

Hassan Khan – Punjabi Legends

Muhammed Irfan Jnr. – Karachians

Benny Howell – Kerala Kings

Richard Gleeson – Maratha Arabians

Here are the full squads:

Kerala Kings

Eoin Morgan (Icon Player, Captain), Sohail Tanvir, Kieron Pollard, Paul Stirling, Dasun Shanaka, Chris Gayle, Junaid Khan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Tom Curran, Fabian Allen, Niroshan Dickwella, Imran Nazir, Benny Howell

Maratha Arabians

Rashid Khan (Icon Player), Kamran Akmal, Alex Hales, Dwayne Bravo, James Faulkner, Lasith Malinga, Liam Livingstone, James Vince, Brendan Taylor, Adam Lyth, Roelof van der Merwe, Najibullah Zadran, Richard Gleeson


Shahid Afridi (Icon Player, Captain), Mohammad Irfan, Liam Dawson, Colin Ingram, David Willey, Colin Munro, Andre Fletcher, Sohail Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Chadwick Walton, Shapoor Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Cameron Delport

Punjabi Legends

Shoaib Malik (Icon Player, Captain), Chris Jordan, Luke Ronchi, Liam Plunkett, Evin Lewis, Mohammad Sami, Zahir Khan, Umar Akmal, Mitchell McClenaghan, Tom Moores, Anwar Ali, Jade Dernbach, Hasan Khan


Shane Watson (Icon Player), Anton Devcich, Ben Laughlin, Jofra Archer, Colin de Grandhomme, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Nawaz, Dawid Malan, Fawad Ahmed, Isuru Udana, Joe Clarke, Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Irfan

Bengal Tigers

Sunil Narine (Icon Player), Jason Roy, Asif Ali, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sam Billings, Morne Morkel, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Nabi, Kusal Perera, Sherfane Rutherford, Kevon Cooper, Rayad Emrit, Ali Khan

Northern Warriors

Darren Sammy (Icon Player), Wahab Riaz, Nicolas Pooran, Andre Russell, Dwayne Smith, Ravi Bopara, Rovman Powell, Harry Gurney, Chris Green, Obed McCoy, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Kennar Lewis


Brendon McCullum (Icon Player), Chris Lynn, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Tymal Mills, Carlos Brathwaite, Rahat Ali, Samit Patel, Qais Ahmad, Ben Dunk, Shan Masood, Peter Trego

For all the latest cricket news and other updates follow CricTracker.