T20 World Cup 2021: Explaining the format of the global event

T20 World Cup 2021: Explaining the format of the global event

Like the 2016 edition, this year’s T20 World Cup will also take place in three stages.

India vs England
India vs England. (Photo by Surjeet Yadav/Getty Images)

Fans can’t keep calm with the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup being just around the corner. The gala tournament will get underway on October 17 with the matches taking place in UAE and Oman. T20 cricket has gained massive popularity over the years and one can expect nothing less than mind-boggling entertainment when top T20 players from a nation will join forces to take their side to glory.

For the unversed, this will be the seventh edition of the T20 World Cup. Initially, the tournament was slated to take place in India. However, COVID-19 concerns in the country meant the action is shifted the Gulf nations. As many as 16 teams will lock horns across 45 matches to become the ultimate champion of the shortest international format.

As the T20 World Cup 2021 takes a countdown, let’s look at the format of the competition.

Preliminary Round

Like the 2016 edition, this year’s T20 World Cup will also take place in three stages. The action starts with a preliminary round which would see two groups of four teams participating in a round-robin. While Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia will battle it out in Group A, Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman are placed in Group B.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 12 stage. While the top team from Group A and the second qualifying side from Group B will enter Group 1 of the Super 12s, with the top side from Group B and the second side from Group A will find a place in Group 2.

Group A

Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B

Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12

The action will then move to the Super 12 stage. It will see two groups of six teams playing another round-robin. Group 1 comprises England, Australia, South Africa and West Indies alongside the two qualifying teams. On the other hand, Group B has India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan alongside the qualifying sides.

Like the previous round, all teams will cross swords with the other team in the group once. The top two teams will from each group will progress to the semi-finals while eight teams will get knocked out.

Group 1

England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, top seed Group A, second seed Group B

Group 2

India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, second seed Group A, top seed Group B

The top two teams from each Super 12 Group will find them in the semi-finals. While the first match is scheduled to be played in Abu Dhabi on November 10, the second semi-final will be played in Dubai on November 11. The winner of the two semi-finals will meet in the high-voltage final for the prestigious title. Notably, reserve days are scheduled in place for the semi-finals and the final match. There are no reserve days for group-stage games.

Check the latest updates of the T20 World Cup schedule, T20 World cup Teams and Squads, T20 World Cup Points table, and more on CricTracker.