T20 World Cup 2021: How much money will Team India get out of $5.6-million prize money pool?

T20 World Cup 2021: How much money will Team India get out of $5.6-million prize money pool?

India didn't make it to the knockout stage of an ICC event for the first time since 2012.

Indian Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team. (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

The final of the T20 World Cup 2021 is set to be played between Trans-Tasman rivals Australia and New Zealand on Sunday (November 14). The two teams have played some fantastic cricket so far and would be eager to lift the trophy for the first time. Apart from winning the World Cup, they will also contest for a huge prize money of $1.6 million (INR 11.89 crore).

As far as Team India is concerned, they were knocked out of the tournament in the Super 12 stage itself. It was an underwhelming show from the Men in Blue as they failed to make it to the knockouts of an ICC event for the first since 2012. However, even for the teams knocked out early in the tournament, ICC will be rewarding prize money as a whopping amount of $5.6 million (INR 41.63 crore) prize money pool has been allocated for World Cup.

The fans, in that case, will be interested to know the amount India will be getting. For featuring in the Super 12 stage of the tournament, Virat Kohli and his men will be getting $70,000 (INR 52 lakh) as prize money. India managed to register three wins in five matches beating the likes of Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia.

According to the earlier announced norms by ICC, for each win in the Super 12 stage, a team will be getting $40,000 (INR 29.73 lakh). According to that, India will be getting a total sum of $190,000 (INR 1.41 crore) as prize money.

What next for team India?

Team India will now be facing New Zealand at home in a three-match T20I series starting from November 17. The two teams will also face each other in two Tests commencing on November 25. Several senior players have been rested for both series and the Men in Blue will be keen on building the team from scratch when it comes to T20Is.

Rahul Dravid will be taking over as India head coach from the New Zealand series while Rohit Sharma has been named the T20I skipper post Kohli’s decision to step down after the World Cup.