T20 World Cup 2021: Wasim Jaffer trolls Virat Kohli ahead of Australia-New Zealand final

T20 World Cup 2021: Wasim Jaffer trolls Virat Kohli ahead of Australia-New Zealand final

Jaffer took a harmless dig at Kohli's poor record at the toss.

Wasim Jaffer
Former India cricketer Wasim Jaffer. (Photo Source: Instagram/WasimJaffer)

Wasim Jaffer continued his troll game, this time Indian skipper Virat Kohli being at the receiving end. Jaffer took to his official Twitter account to post a picture of Kohli and Kane Williamson sitting together, where Kohli is wishing the latter good luck before the T20 World Cup final against Australia. Responding to Kohli, Williamson asks if he has “any tips for the toss?”.

Notably, Kohli had a long luckless fate with the coin in the UAE during the T20 World Cup, when he lost three tosses in a row against Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan. In fact, until India’s fixture with Afghanistan, the Indian skipper had lost the toss as many as 13 times in his last 14 T20Is. After the long series of misfortune, he called correctly twice in a row, winning against Scotland and Namibia. In his overall T20I career, Kohli won only 20 tosses in the 50 games he led India.

As for the T20 World Cup, which was Kohli’s last assignment as India’s T20I skipper, as he announced his decision to step down after the conclusion of the tournament, he could not take India any further than the Super12 stages in what was the first instance of the team being knocked out as early as the group stage of an ICC event in last eight years.

India started their campaign with a 10-wicket loss against Pakistan, followed by another eight-wicket drubbing against New Zealand to muddle their qualification chances. Eventually, even three consecutive victories – against Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia – did not suffice for India, who needed Afghanistan to defeat New Zealand to keep their hopes alive. However, the result did not fall India’s way, leading to their exit at the earliest juncture.

The titular clash on November 14 will take place between Australia and New Zealand, neither of whom have won the tournament thus far. While this is New Zealand’s maiden final appearance in the T20 World Cup, Australia have been here once before – in the 2010 edition, when they had to finish as the runners-up after losing against England by seven wickets.