T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2024

T20 World cup
T20 World cup ( Photo source : Getty Images )

The ICC T20 World Cup, a global cricket tournament, kicked off in South Africa back in 2007. The latest men's edition took place in Australia from October 16th to November 13th, 2022, ending with England clinching the championship against Pakistan in a thrilling final match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup will be held jointly in the West Indies and the United States of America. The mega event is set to commence on June 2 with expanded 20 teams vying for supremacy. When it comes to T20 World Cup domination, West Indies and England lead the pack, both securing the title twice. Other notable champions include India, Pakistan, Australia, and Sri Lanka, each claiming victory once.

India, under the leadership of MS Dhoni, made headlines by winning the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, defeating arch-rivals Pakistan in a tense final. Their journey featured only one stumble against New Zealand in the Super 8s. Pakistan redeemed themselves by triumphing in the 2009 edition hosted by England, defeating Sri Lanka in the final.

England made history in 2010 by becoming the first non-Asian team to lift the trophy, overcoming Australia in the final. Their triumph repeated in 2022 when they secured their second title by besting Pakistan. West Indies grabbed their first title in 2012, edging past hosts Sri Lanka in a nail-biting final. They repeated their success in 2016, outclassing England in the championship clash, becoming the first team to claim the trophy twice.

Sri Lanka's moment arrived in 2014, when they defeated India by 6 wickets in the final, marking their maiden T20 World Cup triumph. Australia joined the winner's circle in 2021, overpowering New Zealand in the final match with a commanding 8-wicket victory, seizing their inaugural ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title.

T20 World Cup Winners & Runners List from 2007 to Present

2024 - - - -
2022  England   5 wickets  Pakistan  Australia 
2021  Australia  8 wickets  New Zealand  Oman & UAE 
2016  West Indies  4 wickets  England  India 
2014  Sri Lanka  6 wickets  India  Bangladesh 
2012  West Indies  36 runs  Sri Lanka  Sri Lanka 
2010  England  7 wickets  Australia  West Indies 
2009  Pakistan  8 wickets  Sri Lanka  England 
2007  India  5 runs  Pakistan  South Africa 

T20 World Cup Winners List with Captain, Man of the Match, and Player of the Series

2024 - - - -
2022  England  Jos Buttler  Sam Curran  Sam Curran 
2021  Australia  Aaron Finch  Mitchell Marsh  David Warner 
2016  West Indies  Darren Sammy  Marlon Samuels  Virat Kohli 
2014  Sri Lanka  Dinesh Chandimal, Lasith Malinga  Kumar Sangakkara  Virat Kohli 
2012  West Indies  Darren Sammy  Marlon Samuels  Shane Watson 
2010  England  Paul Collingwood  Craig Kieswetter  Kevin Pietersen 
2009  Pakistan  Younis Khan  Shahid Afridi  Tillakaratne Dilshan 
2007  India  M S Dhoni  Irfan Pathan  Shahid Afridi 

Most Titles Wins in T20 World Cup

England  2 times  2010, 2022 
West Indies  2 time  2012, 2016 
India  1 time  2007 
Pakistan  1 time  2009 
Sri Lanka  1 time  2014 
Australia  1 time  2021