Team India under Ravi Shastri 2.0 set to undergo a change in yo-yo benchmark

Team India under Ravi Shastri 2.0 set to undergo a change in yo-yo benchmark

Currently, the yo-yo benchmark is set at 16.1.

Ravi Shastri
Ravi Shastri. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The yo-yo test has turned out to be a massive aspect in Indian cricket. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had made clearing the test a mandatory one in order for selection in the national team. Currently, the benchmark for the same is 16.1 in order to represent the country at the highest level. The test has already caused a number of Indian players problems in their career.

The likes of Ambati Rayudu and Mohammed Shami failed to clear the exam and were thereafter left out of their respective squads. Even as Rayudu missed the tour of England after the IPL 2018, Shami missed the one-off Test against Afghanistan in Bangalore. In the meantime, it has been learned that a few modifications will be done in the yo-yo benchmark for the upcoming times.

Yo-yo changes set to take place

The same will be a witness to an increase from 16.1 to 17 under Ravi Shastri, who was re-appointed as Team India’s head coach last month by the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC). “Fitness is integral to participation at the international level and the minimum qualification will be 17,” a source privy to the development was quoted as saying in Pune Mirror.

It’s been known that the coaching staff will insist on an increased benchmark as the minimum requirement. Shastri, whose second tenure as India’s head coach started September 1, may hold an extensive meeting will all the stakeholders in the near future and also reset the yo-yo level. The yo-yo test is an internationally accepted way of measuring fitness of sportspersons.

Ever since it’s induction in the Indian team, the emphasis on staying fit has increased, apart from honing skills in batting bowling and fielding. The impact has also been seen with athleticism from the players. The changes are expected to be in place from the upcoming T20I series versus South Africa.

The fixtures get underway on September 15, 2019 with the first game at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association, Dharamshala. Mohali and Bangalore will host the other two T20Is. The 20-overs format will be followed by the three-match Test series, set to start on October 2.

Watch: Sreesanth’s IPL controversy timeline