The Best XI of Bangladesh Premier League 2017

The Best XI of Bangladesh Premier League 2017

It was the Rangpur Riders who were crowned the champions as they defeated the Dhaka Dynamites to get to their maiden BPL title.

Rangpur riders
Rangpur riders celebrate their BPL 2017 title win. (Photo Source: Twitter)

T20 leagues have forever been known for their glitz, glamour and extravaganza. The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), version 5.0 was no exception as it presented to us riveting cricketing action and brought some exceptional young talent to the fore. It was everything a T20 tournament strives to be and beyond!

It was Khulna Titans, Rangpur Riders, Dhaka Dynamites and Comilla Victorians who made it to the playoffs after almost a month of stupendous cricket. The tournament culminated into an exciting final on Tuesday before drawing to a close for this year. It was the Rangpur Riders who were crowned the champions as they defeated the Dhaka Dynamites to get to their maiden BPL title. There where several players of the different franchises who stepped up their games to help their team along. Let’s have a look at the best XI from the tournament:

1. Chris Gayle (Rangpur Riders)

The Windies power-hitter’s special knock in the final game was primarily responsible for Rangpur being able to call the trophy their own. His scintillating knock worth 146 runs off just 69 balls helped Rangpur put up a massive first innings total of 206, from where there was only victory to be sought. Gayle also topped the charts in the tournament with respect to the most number of runs scored, with 485 runs under his belt in 11 matches, which included two mammoth centuries, at an average of 53.89.

2. Evin Lewis (Dhaka Dynamites)

The Dhaka Dynamites opener grabbed attention with his match-winning knocks and composure throughout the tournament. He was second only to Gayle in terms of the most number of runs scored. Lewis managed to accrue 396 runs in 12 matches, at an average of 36.00, including a mind-boggling 75-run innings against the Chittagong Vikings.

3. Tamim Iqbal (Comilla Victorians)

The captain of the Comilla Victorians, Tamim Iqbal would be heartbroken to have not been able to make it to the finals. Iqbal marshalled his troops brilliantly and guided his team to the pinnacle of the tournament rankings. Apart from being an able captain, he batted wonderfully all throughout, scoring 332 runs in just 10 matches. BPL 2017 also saw him hold the record for scoring the maximum number of 4s as he smashed 45 boundaries in his appearances for his side.

4. Mohammad Mithun (wk) (Rangpur Riders)

Rangpur Riders keeper, Mohammad Mithun served his role to perfection as he contributed behind the stumps as well as with the willow. He notched up 329 runs in 13 outings, that included 22 boundaries and 10 sixers. His agility while donning the keeper’s gloves proved valuable to his team as he produced some fine wicket-keeping actions behind the wickets, helping the Rangpur side in more ways than one.

5. Ravi Bopara (Rangpur Riders)

England all-rounder, Ravi Bopara proved once again the reason he’s so highly rated worldwide. Bopara ranked third in the list of maximum runs scored by a player throughout the tournament, with 365 runs to his name in 13 innings at an average of 40.56. He scored two crucial half-centuries for Rangpur and hit 23 boundaries in the championship. He delivered with the ball as well, as he picked up 8 wickets and maintained one of the best bowling strike rates at the figures of 15.75.

6. Shakib Al Hasan (Dhaka Dynamites)

Shakib is bound to be a disappointed man as he led the Dhaka Dynamites side to the finals in full glory but fell just a few feet short of clinching the title. However, his efforts cannot be ignored as he emerged as the highest wicket-taker of BPL 2017. He bagged 22 scalps in the 13 matches he played at an admirable average of 13.23. He was also the claimant of the best bowling figures of the tournament for his spell against the Riders, where he picked up 5 wickets while conceding just 16 runs.

7. Sunil Narine (Dhaka Dynamites)

Whenever Sunil Narine is part of a tournament, he ends up being in a commanding position at the end of it more often than not! It was no different this time around as Narine picked up 11 wickets at an average of 20.36. His meagre economy rate of 4.96 was also commendable. Further, Narine acted as the surprise element at the top of the order while batting for his side and sported a whopping strike rate of 147.06 in the tournament.

8. Mashrafe Mortaza (C) (Rangpur Riders)

Winning captain, Mashrafe Mortaza was all smiles after the victory and he had done everything to get there. He led from the front as an ideal captain and guided his men to the finals step-by-step. On his part, Mortaza picked up 15 wickets in 14 matches at an average of 24.73. He impressed with the bat too, as he maintained a respectable strike rate of 152.33 in the 9 innings that he played.

9. Hasan Ali (Comilla Victorians)

Pakistani pacer, Hasan Ali has been having a dream run since the Champions Trophy, 2017 where he was the leading wicket-taker. The youngster didn’t disappoint in the BPL, as he scalped 16 wickets in the 34.5 overs that he bowled in the tournament, at an average of 15.31. He ranked second only to Shakib Al Hasan in the best bowling figures, armed with the astounding figures of 5/20 against the Dynamites.

10. Abu Jayed (Khulna Titans)

Pacer, Abu Jayed impressed one and all with his brilliant bowling in the tournament. Notably, his 4-wicket haul at the cost of 35 runs against the Chittagong Vikings was crucial in giving his team a nail-biting 18-run victory. Jayed claimed 18 scalps in 12 matches at an average of 20.39. He maintained a bowling strike rate of 13.67 in the series, helping his team to reach the playoffs in style.

11. Nazmul Islam (Rangpur Riders)

Young spinner, Nazmul Islam contributed heftily to his team’s winning cause as he bagged 12 dismissals in the 10 matches he played for his side. He sported an average of 16.33 and bowled at a decent economy rate of 6.53. Islam’s consistent bowling in the tournament sparkled amidst such high-profile names and his efforts bore fruit as his team were crowned the champions of BPL 2017.