Three European countries set to play triangular series in June 2018

Three European countries set to play triangular series in June 2018

The series commences on June 12.

Netherlands. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Three of the top European cricketing countries are all set to lock horns in a T20 tri-series in the month of June this year. The Netherlands will be hosting their neighbors – Ireland and Scotland – in the tri-series that commences on June 12. The series will run on till June 20. The tournament is expected to serve as an ideal ground for the players of the three teams to prepare for the ICC World T20 Qualifiers which will be played next year.

Venues shortlisted for the tri-series are Rotterdam, Deventer, and Amstelveen. In the recent times, these sides have often felt the dearth of opportunities. Now, with the T20 series lined up, the Netherlands cricket board, the Royal Dutch Cricket Association (KNCB) is confident of improving things for the three nations.

“This tournament will become an annual event between the three strongest European cricket countries,” the Royal Dutch Cricket Association (KNCB) said in a statement.

Evenly matched sides on cards

The head coach of the Netherlands team, Ryan Campbell, expressed his delight at the announcement. As per the quotes in ESPNcricinfo, he remarked that the tournament will be between the evenly matched sides. All the three teams had recently faced off in the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018. While Netherlands had to make a Group round exit, Ireland and Scotland had finished fourth and fifth respectively.

“I am so excited about the announcement of this annual tri-series T20 event with Ireland and Scotland. I believe the three teams are evenly matched and the opportunity to play against our neighbours more often is something that we’ve been trying to put together for some time now. The matches will be action packed and this will be our first steps in preparation for the 2019 World T20 Qualifiers,” the Netherlands Head Coach Ryan Campbell quoted.

Here are the complete fixtures:

June 12 Ned vs Ire, Rotterdam

June 13 Ned vs Ire, Rotterdam

June 16 Ire vs Sco, Deventer

June 17 Ire vs Sco, Deventer

June 19 Ned vs Sco, Amstelveen

June 20 Ned vs Sco, Amstelveen

For the latest cricket news, follow CricTracker.