Tim Southee awarded Sir Richard Hadlee Medal at NZC Awards

This is Southee's first Sir Richard Hadlee Medal in his prolonged career of 14 years.

Tim Southee
Tim Southee. (Photo by MARTY MELVILLE/AFP via Getty Images)

View : 303

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

New Zealand senior pacer Tim Southee on April 14 (Thursday), was conferred with the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal at the New Zealand Cricket Awards for his consistency throughout the 2021/22 season. To note, this is Southee’s first Sir Richard Hadlee Medal in his prolonged career of 14 years.

The right-arm pacer was awarded the medal for his excellent performances across all three formats in the latest season during which he scalped a total of 36 Test wickets at an average of 23.88. Southee also bowled some excellent spells including 6/43 against England at Lord’s, and scalped five key wickets against India during the ICC World Test Championship Final at Southampton.

It’s a huge honour to win such a prestigious award: Tim Southee


“It’s a huge honour to win such a prestigious award. Like most cricketers growing up, I knew all about the exploits of Sir Richard and it’s certainly pretty humbling to win his award this year,” Southee said in a video posted by New Zealand Cricket on Twitter.

“While the accolades are nice, I think it really just reflects the way we have worked together as a group and played our cricket for a long period of time. It’s been great to be a part of this period and be able to win games for our country which is something that’s very special,” he added.

Southee is New Zealand’s third-highest wicket-taker in Tests. The pacer is behind Daniel Vettori, and the record-holder the award is named after, Sir Richard Hadlee. Talking about his numbers in Test cricket, the 33-year-old has played 85 matches for his country, in which, he has scalped a total of 338 wickets.

Among other notable awardees, left-handed batter Devon Conway was awarded the Test Player of the Year after stroking a double-hundred in his debut game against England. The International Women’s T20 Player of the Year was given to Sophie Devine while Amelia Kerr was named the Women’s ODI Player of the Year.

Here’s a look at the list of major awardees

Hadlee Medal: Tim Southee
Sutcliffe Medal: Penny Kinsella
Test Player of the Year: Devon Conway                                                                                                                  The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling: Tim Southee
The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling: Eden Carson
New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Gaffaney                                                                                            Super Smash Players of the Year: Amelia Kerr, Michael Bracewell
Domestic Players of the Year: Nensi Patel, Tom Bruce, Robbie O’Donnell                                                    T20 Players of the Year: Sophie Devine, Trent Boult
ODI Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr, Will Young                                                                                        Redpath Cup for first-class batting: Devon Conway
The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Suzie Bates