TNPL 2017: Ruby Kanchi Warriors appoint new coaching staff

They have appointed Tinu Yohannan as their Head Coach for the season 2 of the tournament.

Tinu Yohannan
Tinu Yohannan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Ruby Kanchi Warriors of the Tamil Nadu Premier League has recently appointed new coaching staff for their team for the 2017 edition of the T20 league. They have appointed Tinu Yohannan as their Head Coach for the season 2 of the tournament. Also, they have named Ajay Kudua as the batting coach for the upcoming edition of the tournament.

The TNPL season 1 was a big hit and had unearthed some serious young talent from Tamil Nadu. One of the success stories from the league was pacer T Natarajan. His heroics in the inaugural edition of the tournament fetched him a big deal in the IPL 10.


Talking about the new coaching recruitments, Tinu Yohannan is a former Indian cricketer. He has represented the national side in the Tests and the ODI format of the game. He was the first cricketer from the state of Kerala to represent the national side. Earlier, he has served as the head coach of the Kerala State senior team in the recently concluded domestic season.

Ajay Kudua, who has been appointed as the batting coach, has also played for Kerala in the Ranji Trophy. He has also represented the South Zone in the Deodhar Trophy during his playing days. Currently, he is the head coach of the Kerala team in the T20 and limited overs format.

Philip John, the PRO of the Ruby Kanchi Warriors, is hopeful of putting up a good show this season. “By appointing coaches with vast cricketing experience and knowledge, Ruby Kanchi Warriors is confident of performing to the best of its abilities,” he quoted.

Talking about the franchise, Ruby Kanchi Warriors is the franchise based at Kancheepuram in the T20 league. They did not have the best of times in the inaugural season of the tournament. They had failed to make it to the playoffs and had finished at the penultimate spot in the points table. With the new recruitment, they will be hoping to turn the fortunes for them this season.

TNPL is a T20 tournament that has been designed on the lines of the Indian Premier League. 8 franchises based on 8 locations in Tamil Nadu participate in the league.