TNPL 2018: Bowlers seal win for iDream Karaikudi Kaalai over VB Kanchi Veerans

TNPL 2018: Bowlers seal win for iDream Karaikudi Kaalai over VB Kanchi Veerans

The Kaalai secured a win by a rather considerable margin.

Karaikudi Kaalai vs VB Kanchi Veerans
Karaikudi Kaalai vs VB Kanchi Veerans. (Photo Source: TNPL)

iDream Karaikudi Kaalai overpowered VB Kanchi Veerans at the NPR College Ground in Natham (Dindigul) on Thursday, July 19, for their first win in the 2018 Sankar Cement TNPL.

After losing their opening encounter in the Super Over against Lyca Kovai Kings,  Kaalai  made a triumphant comeback with a sterling bowling effort. Kaalai captain Srikkanth Anirudha then severely punished VB Kanchi Veerans’ bowlers to lead the team to victory by eight wickets.

Opting to bowl first, Kaalai struck at regular intervals to restrict Veerans to 145-8. Anirudha led the chase with a magnificent unbeaten 93 (49b, 6×4,7×6). After witnessing a run-feast in the previous game, tonight’s encounter was expected to be a high-scoring one but Kaalai bowlers dominated the show.

Earlier, Veerans opener K Vishal Vaidhya waged a lone battle until he was dismissed in the 13th over for a fighting 40 (33b, 2×4, 2×6). Vaidhya’s first four batting partners were out for single digit scores before Subramania Siva, batting at No 6, assisted him in rebuilding the innings.

After Vaidhya’s fall, Sanjay Yadav lit up the picturesque ground with three huge sixes on three consecutive balls off S Swaminathan. The off-spinner scripted a perfect comeback by dismissing  Yadav 27(13b,4×6) on the next ball. A cameo (19) from tail-ender Sunil Sam lifted Veerans to 145.

Brief scores:

VB Kanchi Veerans 145/8 in 20 overs (Vishal Vaidhya K 40, Sanjay Yadav 27, S Mohan Prasath 2-17, V Lakshman 2-37) lost to iDream Karaikudi Kaalai 146/2 in 16.3 overs (Srikkanth Anirudha 93*, Maan Bafna 24, S Sam 1-22).


‘Sankar Cement’ Maximum Sixes Award: Srikkanth Anirudha (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai)

‘Krishna Mines Super White Super Fours’ Award:  Srikkanth Anirudha (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai)

‘Equitas Funtastic’ Player of the Match: R Sanjay Yadav(VB Kanchi Veerans)

‘Sprite Most Refreshing Player’ Award: K Vishal Vaidhya (VB Kanchi Veerans)

‘Sankar Cement Man of the Match’ Award: Srikkanth Anirudha (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai)

‘Most number of DOT BALL bowled in the match’ Award:  V Yo Mahesh (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai)/ Sunil Sam (VB Kanchi Veerans)

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with