TNPL 3, Eliminator, Review: Kovai Kings kick Karaikudi Kaalai out of the tournament

TNPL 3, Eliminator, Review: Kovai Kings kick Karaikudi Kaalai out of the tournament

Abhinav Mukund was named Man of the Match for his 51-run knock on a tough pitch.

Abhinav Mukund
Abhinav Mukund. (Photo Source: TNPL)

Lyca Kovai Kings defeated iDream Karaikudi Kaalai by 24 runs in a low-scoring Eliminator at the NPR College ground in Natham (Dindigul) on Thursday, Aug 9, and will meet Siechem Madurai Panthers in Qualifier 2 at the same venue on Friday, Aug 10, in the 2018 Sankar Cement-TNPL.

The winner of Qualifier 2 will travel to Chennai for the final against Dindigul Dragons to be played at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Sunday, Aug 12.

Chasing 138 to win, Karaikudi Kaalai lost their captain and batting mainstay S Anirudha for 11 (10b, 2×4) in the third over that triggered off a collapse as the side went from 14/0 to 23/4.

Maan K Bafna 40 (38b,2×4,2×6) tried his best to keep Karaikudi Kaalai alive but failed to get sufficient support aside of No 9 Kishan Kumar 25 (21b, 2×4, 1×6). For Kovai Kings, medium-pacers T Natarajan (4-24) and K Vignesh (3-19) excelled.

Earlier, put in to bat, Kovai Kings began with an opening-wicket stand of 34 runs but the inning nosedived after Shahrukh Khan’s dismissal. Captain Abhinav Mukund 51 (46b, 4×4, 1×6) waged a lone battle while the middle-order capitulated.

Medium-pacer R Rajkumar picked up 4-30 for Karaikudi Kaalai before Kovai Kings, with useful contributions from the lower middle-order, reached 137/8 in 20 overs.

Brief scores:

Lyca Kovai Kings 137/8 in 20 overs (A Mukund 51, R Rajkumar 4-30, Kishan Kumar 2-27) bt iDream Karaikudi Kaalai 113 all out in 19.4 overs (Maan Bafna 40, Kishan Kumar 25, T Natarajan 4-24, K Vignesh 3-19).


‘Krishna Mines Super White Super Fours’ Award: A Mukund (Lyca Kovai Kings)

‘Sankar Cement’ Maximum Sixes Award:  Maan Bafna (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai)

‘Equitas Funtastic’ Player of the Match: K Vignesh (Lyca Kovai Kings)

‘Sprite Most Refreshing Player’ Award: R Rajkumar (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai)

‘Most numbers of DOT BALL bowled in the match’ Award:  K Vignesh (Lyca Kovai Kings)

‘Sankar Cement Man of the Match’ Award: A Mukund (Lyca Kovai Kings)

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.