TNPL 3, Match 19 Review: Madurai Panthers beat Trichy Warriors by five wickets

Siechem Madurai Panthers cruised to their fourth consecutive win in the 2018 TNPL as they crushed Ruby Trichy Warriors by five wickets.

Madurai Panthers
Madurai Panthers. (Photo Source: TNPL)

Siechem Madurai Panthers cruised to their fourth consecutive win in the 2018 Sankar Cement-TNPL as they crushed Ruby Trichy Warriors by five wickets at the ICL Sankar Nagar ground in Tirunelveli on Sunday, July 29. Thalaivan Sargunam, continuing his explosive form, played another stormy inning of 70 (36) to ensure that the chase of 176 was never out of Panthers’ control. KB Arun Karthik played the supporting role early and took control after Sargunam’s dismissal to score an unbeaten 80(45b,5×4,5×6) to close out the chase.

The victory propels Siechem Madurai Panthers to the second spot in the points table with four wins from five games. Trichy Warriors, with the third loss on the trot, have to come back strong in their remaining games to claim a spot in the Playoffs.


Sargunam, who came out to bat in the third over, was severe on the Warriors bowlers straightaway. His stroke-filled innings of 70 (36b) contained six sixes and five boundaries. Trichy Warriors had no escape with KB Arun Karthik continuing strongly.

Earlier, after being asked to bat first, Trichy Warriors began well with Bharath Shankar 29 (23b,3×4,2×6) and the new opener Mani Bharathy stitching together an opening stand of 59 runs from 47 balls.

The middle overs were then dominated by the Panthers bowlers as they kept the Warriors quiet with left-arm spinner Rahil Shah (3-27) being the lead wicket-taker. Trichy Warriors wrested back control with V Saravanan n.o. 52 (28b,4×4,3×6) and Suresh Kumar n.o. 42 (26b,5×4,1×6) scoring 54 runs from the final four overs, 21 of them in the last over bowled by J Kousik.

Brief Scores:

Ruby Trichy Warriors 175/4 in 20 overs ( V Saravanan n.o. 52, Suresh Kumar S n.o. 42, Mani Bharathy 33, Bharath Shankar 29, Rahil Shah 3-27) lost to Siechem Madurai Panthers 176/5 in 18.2 overs (KB Arun Karthik n.o. 80, T Sargunam 70, C. Ganapathy 2-28) by five wickets.


‘Sankar Cement’ Maximum Sixes Award: Thalaivan Sargunam (Siechem Madurai Panthers)

‘Krishna Mines Super White Super Fours’ Award:

Suresh Kumar/Thalaivan Sargunam/KB Arun Karthik (Ruby Trichy Warriors/Siechem Madurai Panthers)

‘Equitas Funtastic’ Player of the Match:  Vasanth Saravanan (Ruby Trichy Warriors)

‘Sprite Most Refreshing Player’ Award:   Thalaivan Sargunam (Siechem Madurai Panthers)

‘Sankar Cement Man of the Match’ Award:  KB Arun Karthik (Siechem Madurai Panthers)

‘Most numbers of DOT BALL bowled in the match’ Award: Varun Chakravathi (Siechem Madurai Panthers)

For all the latest cricket news and other updates follow CricTracker.