TNPL Winners List from 2016 to 2023

The coveted Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) is one of the most renowned state-level T20 cricket carnival in India. The inaugural edition started in 2016. Sinc Speaking of last year’s winners, the Chepauk Super Gillies and Lyca Kovai Kings were declared as the joint winners of the TNPL 2022. In the history of the league so far, three franchises have emerged victorious. Meanwhile, in the upcoming TNPL 2023 edition, several new changes will come into effect.  

Since then, six seasons of the TNPL has been played so far. The only exception took place was in the year 2020, when the event could not take place due to COVID 19. 

Regarding the latest update on the TNPL 2023 Schedule, the grand Chepauk stadium will not be hosting matches this year owing to preparing the venue for the upcoming ODI Cricket World Cup, which is scheduled to take place in India, later this year. 

Speaking of the performances of the teams in the Tamil Nadu Premier League, Nellai Royal Kings topped the TNPL points table. They were sitting at the helm with 12 points while Chepauk Super Gillies finished at the second spot with 10 points, respectively.  

In the build up to the upcoming TNPL 2023 edition, let’s have a look at all the winners and runner ups in the tournament’s history so far: 

TNPL. (Photo Source: Twitter)

TNPL Winners & Runners List

Year Winner Won by Runner Up Venue
2023 Lyca Kovai Kings 104 Runs Nellai Royal Kings Indian Cement Company Ground, Tirunelveli
2022 Chepauk Super Gillies and Lyca Kovai Kings Shared Winners None SNR College Cricket Ground, Coimbatore
2021 Chepauk Super Gillies 8 Runs Trichy Warriors MA Chidambaram Stadim
2019 Chepauk Super Gillies 12 Runs Dindugul Dragons MA Chidambaram Stadium
2018 Madurai Super Giants 7 Wickets Dindugul Dragons MA Chidamabaram Stadium
2017 Chepauk Super Gillies 6 Wickets Tuti Patrriots MA Chidamabaram Stadium
2016 Tuti Patriots 122 runs Chepauk Super Gillies MA Chidambaram Stadium

TNPL Winners List with Captain, Man of the Match, and Player of the Series

Year Winner Captain Player of the Tournament
2023 Lyca Kovai Kings Shahrukh Khan Ajitesh Guruswamy
2022 Chepauk Super Gillies and Lyca Kovai Kings Kaushik Gandhi and Sharukh Khan

Sandeep Warrier

2021 Chepauk Super Gillies Kaushik Gandhi Narayan Jagadeesan
2019 Chepauk Super Gillies Kaushik Gandhi G Periyaswamy
2018 Madurai Super Giants Abhishek Tanwar Arun Karthik
2017 Chepauk Super Gillies Rajagoplan Sathish Washington Sundar
2016 Tuti Patriots Dinesh Karthik Narayan Jagadeesan

Most Titles Wins in TNPL

TNPL Team TNPL Trophy TNPL Winner
Chepauk Super Gillies 4 Times 2017, 2019,2021 and 2022
Salem Spartans 1 Time 2016
Siechem Madurai Panthers 1 Time 2018
Lyca Kovai Kings 2 Times 2022, 2023

*Last Updated on 13th July 2023