Tom Harrison steps down as ECB CEO, to be replaced by Clare Connor on interim basis

Harrison was appointed as the ECB CEO in 2014..

Tom Harrison
Tom Harrison. (Photo by Simon John Owen/ECB)

View : 352

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Tom Harrison, who served as the Chief Executive Officer for ECB, has stepped down from his post and is set to be replaced by Clare Connor, who presently serves as the managing director of women’s cricket. Connor is expected to take Harrison’s position on an interim basis. Harrison was appointed as the ECB CEO in 2014.

The England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has made some significant decisions in the last few weeks including the appointment of star all-rounder Ben Stokes as England’s new Test captain and former New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum as the Test coach. Lately, it has been reported that one of the cricket board’s top officials has decided to step down from his position.

When times are really difficult you need people to step into that challenge: Tom Harrison

“When times are really difficult you need people to step into that challenge and I am here to do that. I have never been more determined to do that. I am not running away from the challenge,” Harrison was quoted by The Guardian.

“It has been exceptionally difficult but I am not running away because it needs leadership and some consistency in terms of how we build back to a place where the game can recover from an extremely difficult period both on and off the pitch,” he added.

Harrison is known for introducing the famous English limited-overs competition The Hundred, which became an instant success after its inaugural edition last year. His resignation comes at a time when England Cricket is finding a suitable candidate for the position of their white-ball coach with former English all-rounder Paul Collingwood and the Australian women’s cricket team head coach Matthew Mott being the frontrunners for this position.

ECB has also removed a few people who held bigger positions in their setup including the director of cricket, head coach, assistant coach, and captain. Apart from that, they have still not found a permanent replacement for their Chairman, Ian Watmore.