Twitter Reactions: All-round India thrash West Indies to seal T20I series

Twitter Reactions: All-round India thrash West Indies to seal T20I series

India have already won the series and the final T20I will be played on August 7 at the same venue.

Suryakumar Yadav and Rohit Sharma
Suryakumar Yadav and Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India and West Indies locked horns in the fourth T20I of the five-match series in Florida in the US. India, who were leading the series, went on to extend their lead to an unassailable 3-1. India clinched the T20I series against the Caribbean side with a match to spare, by winning the game by 59 runs.

India’s top order got off to a typically ferocious start thanks to skipper Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav, who kept the intensity at its peak. Obed McCoy then conceded a 25-run over before both batters walked off the field after a charismatic 53-run stand. While Rishabh Pant was brought in at no. 4, Deepak Hooda, who came in at no. 3, struggled to start his innings as smoothly as he would have liked.

The left-hander has looked his best throughout the entire series, and he selected the gaps with incredible precision the majority of the time. While he was there, a score above 200 seemed on the cards, but when he left, the visitors’ plans were severely derailed, despite Sanju Samson’s promising start. The West Indies had a clear strategy for the final few overs, which was to make good use of their cutters, bowl the perfect line and lengths, and strike the block hole whenever possible.

It was very advantageous, particularly when Dominic Drakes had the ball in his hands. Samson and Dinesh Karthik found it difficult to time their shots as the left-arm seamer maintained a solid plan. However, Axar Patel capitalized on the opportunity and his handy cameo ensured that India would enter the halfway point with the advantage as the Men in Blue finished off scoring 191/5.

It was a bowlers’ day out for the Men in Blue

West Indies’ chase started on a high note with Kyle Mayers and Brandon King scoring 14 runs off Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s first over. The duo looked to continue performing similar stunts but Avesh Khan struck and dismissed King in just the second over. Avesh shut his critics by getting Team India their first breakthrough and went on to scalp Devon Thomas in his next over to give the team the upper hand.

Nicholas Pooran was in great touch when he walked out to bat, and smashed Axar Patel in the spinner’s first over of the game. He hit him for three sixes and a four in the first five deliveries but the Indian had the last laugh, as Pooran was run-out on the final delivery of his over. Patel then struck to dismiss Mayers and later dismissed his Delhi Capitals teammate Rovman Powell after the latter hit two huge sixes off Patel’s over.

India were rewarded handsomely as the bowlers kept taking wickets at regular intervals and made it difficult for the West Indies to go even nearer to the target. Anyone and everyone who tried to go for the big shots was taken down by the bowlers. While Arshdeep Singh struck thrice, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, and Ravi Bishnoi picked two wickets each whereas Bhuvneshwar Kumar went wicketless but a comprehensive effort helped India win the game and clinch the series.

Here’s how Twitter reacted to India’s triumph: