Twitter Reactions: Amy Jones labelled ‘cheat’ by Indian fans for claiming a dropped catch of Smriti Mandhana
The current Tri-nation T20I series is the perfect opportunity for the Indian women’s team to prepare for the upcoming T20I World Cup in Australia.
Updated - Jan 31, 2020 7:48 pm
Indian women’s cricket team locked horns against England in the first match of Australia’s ongoing Tri-nation T20 series at Canberra. In the second over of India’s chase, England’s wicketkeeper Amy Jones sparked controversy for claiming a catch which had popped out of her gloves.
India opener Smirti Mandhana edged the first ball from Katherine Brunt behind the wicket and wicketkeeper Amy Jones dived to her left to pluck the ball. Mandhana began to walk back to the pavilion and it looked like a major blow for the Indian team after losing their in-form opener.
However, after scrutinizing replays several times, it was found that the ball had touched the ground. The wicketkeeper and rest of the team were celebrating but the decision was overturned and Mandhana was called back to the middle. Post the incident, Indian team’s supporters and fans mocked Jones for poor sportsmanship and also accused her of cheating.
Smriti Mandhana was given out but the decision was later overturned.
— ICC (@ICC) January 31, 2020
Mandhana, who walked back to the crease, made the best use of the second chance by smashing three boundaries off the next five deliveries. However, the Indian opener couldn’t last long as she was dismissed for 15 by Natalie Sciver. Chasing a total of 148 runs, India lost their top-order comprising Shafali Verma and Jemimah Rodrigues till the 11th over. However, skipper Harmanpreet Kaur led her side from the front and delivered a match-winning 42-run knock to steer India to the victory.
‘We lacked in handling pressure in the last two WC’ – Harmanpreet Kaur
The current Tri-nation T20I series is the perfect opportunity for the Indian women’s team to prepare for the upcoming T20I World Cup in Australia from February 21. England and Australia, who are part of the Tri-Nation series, would provide tough fight for the Women in Blue.
The Indian team reached the finals of 2017 but couldn’t lift the trophy as they lost by four runs to England. Though the Indian side has an abundance of talent, it hasn’t lifted the trophy even once. They will aim to deliver impressive performances and bring the trophy home from Australia.
Skipper Kaur emphasized on handling pressure in the World cup games before departing to Australia earlier this month. “We were quite close in the last two World Cups, the only thing is we have to keep in mind how to handle pressure in the tournaments, last two World Cups we lacked in handling pressure,” she said.
Here’s how Twitter reacted:
It's not out wk can't collect the ball properly
— rohit raj (@rohitraj0000007) January 31, 2020
Did she claim the catch in the first place? She watched the ball touch the ground. pic.twitter.com/IbRJuyoUvr
— ದರ್ಶನ್ ಜೆ. ಶೆಟ್ಟಿ (@darshanjshetty) January 31, 2020
She is not out… Good decision.. 👍👍
— ravi singh (@Imravi_singh07) January 31, 2020
Ground umpire is not needed….
To play match…
What they does…?
They do only mistakes….
— Sanket kharwale (@SKharwale) January 31, 2020
She hasn't have the control over the ball. Something that MCC rule book suggests for a decision of the catch.
— Cricket Bloggers (@CricBloggers) January 31, 2020
SOME INDIAN FANTASY PLAYERS WANTS
— भाग भाग भाग शेर आया शेर 🦁🦁 (@FantasyKINGAMIT) January 31, 2020
— Ankit kagdiyal (@AKagdiyal) January 31, 2020
Not out. Did not maintain control of ball throughout process of taking catch
— Neil Holloway (@neilh1983) January 31, 2020
Correct decision by TU
— HealthTonic (@health_tonic) January 31, 2020
Plz Dont Cry….. & yes ICC= BCCI 😂😂
— 𝐌𝐀𝐇𝐈𝐑𝐀𝐓 🤹 (@GOATKingKohli) January 31, 2020
100% not out..good decision
— Rizwan Ali (@AliRixwan) January 31, 2020
She's given out by the onfield unpire then later third unpire interfere in this right decision 👌
— Shubham Singh (@Shubham_banna__) January 31, 2020
WK never had control of tht catch, hence decision over turned. #INDvENG
— Jagdhish Sukasi, PMP, CSM (@sukasi) January 31, 2020
It's a Not out. No control over the ball.
— Pawan Kalyan (@PawanKalyan595) January 31, 2020
— Sahil Ahammed (@sahil_ahammed) January 31, 2020
— SYEDALI (@SYEDALI73812835) January 31, 2020
Oops that's not out.. 🤔
— Mukesh (@carter_mukesh) January 31, 2020