ILT20 2024, EMI vs DUB Final, Highlights: Unmissable video recap, turning points & more

MI Emirates thump Dubai Capitals by 45 runs to win ILT20 2024.

View : 123

3 Min Read

MI Emirates
MI Emirates. (Photo Source: X(Twitter)

In the ultimate showdown of the ILT20 2024, Nicholas Pooran's MI Emirates emerged victorious, lifting the coveted trophy as they defeated Sam Billings' Dubai Capitals by a commanding margin of 45 runs. The clash showcased scintillating performances and gripping moments, with Emirates setting a formidable target of 209 runs. Opting to bowl first, the Capitals faced the wrath of Muhammad Waseem and Kusal Perera, who provided Emirates with a blazing start, amassing 72 runs in the first six overs. 

Although the subsequent six yielded only 31, Pooran's unbeaten 57 off 27 propelled Emirates to a season-high total of 208 for 3. In response, the Capitals struggled to build partnerships, losing wickets at regular intervals, with their highest being the 38-run stand between Billings and Sikandar Raza for the fourth wicket.

Both teams, however, displayed vulnerability in the field, with Emirates dropping six catches. Fortunately for them, the substantial run cushion proved decisive, mitigating the impact of the missed opportunities. Earlier in the game, Billings had chosen to bowl first, deviating from the conventional strategy of putting runs on the board in a crucial match. Waseem and Perera quickly made him reconsider, smashing Emirates past the 50-run mark in just 3.3 overs.

Also Read: ILT20 2024 Winner Prize Money, Complete List of Award-Winners, Top Records & Stats - All You Need To Know

Waseem, Perera power Emirates ahead as Capitals succumb while chasing

By the end of the powerplay, Waseem had amassed 43 runs on his own. The left-arm wrist spinner, Zahir Khan, played a pivotal role for the Capitals by breaking the 77-run stand, dismissing Waseem with a cleverly bowled wrong'un. Despite a missed stumping chance against Andre Fletcher, Capitals managed to slow down the scoring rate. Raza claimed Perera's wicket when the latter attempted to break free.

Akeal Hosein extended Emirates' lead by dismissing Leus du Plooy for a two-ball duck, while Super Sub Tom Banton's aggressive innings was cut short by leg-spinner Vijayakanth Viyaskanth. Although Jason Holder received three lifelines in five balls, the required boundaries for the Capitals were elusive. Trent Boult's economical 17th over, coupled with the dismissal of Rovman Powell, essentially sealed the fate of the match. Despite the Capitals' innings lasting the full 20 overs, the outcome had been determined much earlier, with Emirates emerging triumphant in a memorable ILT20 final.

Here's how 'X' users reacted to MI Emirates winning the ILT20 2024:

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from theΒ IOS andΒ Google Play Store