Indian cricketing fraternity extends heartfelt wishes for Indian Men's Hockey Team ahead of World Cup

The Hockey World Cup commences on January 13, 2023, in India and the hosts are set to play their campaign opener on the first day.

Indian Hockey Team
Indian Hockey Team (Photo Source: Twitter)
Vaishnavi Iyer


View : 557

4 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

While the Indian men’s cricket team is currently facing Sri Lanka in an ODI series at home, the Indian men’s Hockey team is all set to kick-start their FIH Men's Hockey World Cup 2023 campaign on January 13, Friday. The global tournament is being hosted by India this time, and the games will take place in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela from January 13 till the end of the tournament- January 29.

Ahead of India’s campaign opener against Spain, scheduled to take place at 7 pm IST in Rourkela, current and former Indian cricketers shared their best wishes for the Indian hockey team as they aim to clinch the cup at home. India are placed alongside England, Wales, and Spain in Pool D, and it is going to be a challenge for all four teams in the group.

The Indian team, led by Harmanpreet Singh, had an amazing outing at the Tokyo Olympics as they clinched the bronze medal, and also won a silver medal at the Commonwealth Games 2022. As a result, the expectations from the side will be high as they aim for their first podium finish in 48 years after being eliminated in the quarterfinal game of the 2018 World Cup.

Taking to his Twitter, Indian legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar wrote:

“Wishing the Indian Men's Hockey Team all the very best for the Hockey World Cup. We'll all be cheering for you! Chak De!”

While former India captain Virat Kohli tweeted:

“My best wishes to our Indian men's hockey team for the World Cup. Go and enjoy yourself, we all are backing you. Good luck”

Indian T20I sensation Suryakumar Yadav, NCA head VVS Laxman, Indian women's team's star batters Jemimah Rodrigues and Yastika Bhatia, Indian Women's team's vice captain Smriti Mandhana, spin maestro Kuldeep Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane, Nitish Rana, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Robin Uthappa, and Shreyas Iyer were also among those who extended their wishes for the Indian Hockey Team.

India aim to break a 48-year-long winless streak

The tournament will witness a total of 16 teams, namely Australia, Argentina, France, South Africa, Belgium, Germany, South Korea, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Malaysia, Chile, India, England, Spain, and Wales, participating. 

The Indian hockey team ended their 41-year-long wait by finishing third at the Tokyo Olympics 2020. As the tournament is being hosted by India, they will surely be the crowd favorites and the entire nation will be rooting for the side to clinch the prestigious World Cup.

Here's what the Indian cricketing fraternity tweeted: