Twitter Reactions: 3rd T20I ends in a tie as India level DLS par score with New Zealand before rain

India won the series by 1-0 courtesy of the win in the second T20I.

India vs New Zealand
India vs New Zealand. (Photo Source: Kerry Marshall/Getty Images)
Vaishnavi Iyer


View : 1.8K

4 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

India and New Zealand locked horns for the third and final T20I of the series at McLean Park in Napier. After the first match was abandoned due to rains, India took a 1-0 lead by winning the second contest of the series. In order to level the series, hosts New Zealand needed to win this fixture, but the weather conditions ruined their plans as the game ended in a DLS tie, and India clinched the series by 1-0.

In the absence of regular skipper Kane Williamson, Tim Southee led New Zealand and opted to bat first after winning the toss. India dominated the powerplay of the first innings as two of the top-order batters walked back to the pavilion. Arshdeep Singh struck early in the second over to dismiss opening batter Finn Allen, and Mohammed Siraj added to India’s celebrations by dismissing Mark Chapman in the sixth over.

But thereon, the bowlers struggled to pick wickets as opener Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips shared an 86-run partnership for the third wicket and both of them managed to claim a half-century. It was late in the 16th over when Siraj broke the partnership and sent Phillips packing. New Zealand batters lost momentum in the game as their batting unit came crashing down thereon.

Siraj and Arshdeep Singh claimed four wickets, which led to New Zealand getting all-out for 160 runs in the final over. After Conway and Phillips lost their respective wickets Arshdeep Singh and Siraj, none of the batters from the middle-order or bottom-order could do much with the bat and were dismissed cheaply as Indian bowlers dominated the death overs.

Rain favours Indian batters after a poor batting display

The focus then shifted to the Indian batters and the Kiwi bowlers for the second innings. The hosts dominated the game thereon as the bowlers restricted Indian batters from going big, like the previous game. Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer were dismissed cheaply within just three overs of the powerplay as India’s misery increased during the chase.

Suryakumar Yadav, the centurion from the previous game, could not make an impact in this contest and was dismissed for a 10-ball 13 just after the conclusion of the powerplay. Hardik Pandya and Deepak Hooda tried to anchor the innings in the middle but the game was halted as rain came pouring down.

Even after losing four crucial wickets, India managed to be at par with the DLS par score of 75 runs before the game was paused. There were no signs of the rains being stopped, and as a result, the match was abandoned and the game ended in a tie between India and New Zealand. Nevertheless, since India won the second T20I of the series, the Men in Blue won the series by 1-0.

Here's how the Twitter reacted: