Twitter Reactions: Ashton Turner leads from front as Perth Scorchers lift record 5th Big Bash League Trophy

Brisbane Heat scored 175/7 while batting first with Nathan McSweeney top-scoring 41 off 37.

View : 12.2K

3 Min Read

Perth Scorchers
Perth Scorchers. (Photo Source: TREVOR COLLENS/AFP via Getty Images)

Perth Scorchers lifted their record fifth Big Bash League title with a thrilling win against Brisbane Heat in the final on Saturday (February 4). Brisbane Heat posted a challenging 175/7 total while batting first but the Scorchers' captain Ashton Turner's fifty and Cooper Connolly's 25* off 11 guided Scorchers to a memorable five-wicket win.

Jimmy Peirson won the toss and elected to bat first at the Optus Stadium with no changes to their playing combination from the previous outing. The Scorchers were forced to make one change with Matthew Kelly coming in for Lance Morris. Josh Brown gave the Heat a quick start as he smashed 25 off 12 before getting out on David Payne's delivery in the second over.

Sam Heazlett and Nathan McSweeney pulled off a 79-run partnership for the second wicket to keep Heat on track to a big total. Scorchers bowlers made a good comeback in the middle overs with Jason Behrendorff taking two wickets. Max Bryant smashed 31 off 14 with two four and three sixes to put a big total on the scoreboard. Kelly and Behrendorff took two wickets each while Andrew Tye, David Payne, and Aaron Hardie grabbed one each for the Scorchers.

Scorchers also started well with top-order contributing small but crucial knocks. In-form Aaron Hardie scored 17 off 13 before getting caught out on Spencer Johnson's delivery in the eighth over. Heat were in the driving seat after the ten overs of gameplay with just 67/3 on the scoreboard.

But Turner and Josh Inglis pulled off a crucial 80-run partnership for the fourth wicket to drag the game to the wire. Inglis scored 26 while Turner top-scored 53 off just 32 before getting run out in the 17th over. Nick Hobson and Cooper Connolly continued the momentum in the death overs and chased the target with four balls remaining.

Hobson smashed a six and a four (off a no-ball) when the Scorchers needed nine runs off the last five balls. Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, and Matthew Kuhnemann took one wicket each but Michael Neser, who has been crucial in Heat's run to the final, failed to make an impact with either bat or ball.

Here is how Twitter is reacting to Perth Scorchers' win over Brisbane Heat in BBL 2022-23 Final:

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store