Twitter Reactions: Sunrisers Eastern Cape thump Durban's Super Giants to clinch back-to-back titles

Sunrisers Eastern Cape defeated Durban's Super Giants by 89 runs in the SA20 2024 final.

View : 192

3 Min Read

Sunrisers Eastern Cape winners of the SA20 2024 Final
Sunrisers Eastern Cape winners of the SA20 2024 Final (Source: Twitter)

The summit clash of the SA20 2024 featured a clash between Sunrisers Eastern Cape and Durban’s Super Giants at the Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday, February 10. Both sides faced several adversities to reach the final of the tournament, and as the big day arrived, both aimed to perform at the peak of their powers and go all the way.

The clash began with Sunrisers Eastern Cape coming in to bat first after winning the toss, which proved to be an amazing decision. The side got off to a good start as opener Jordan Hermann scored 42 runs in 26 deliveries. However, Dawid Malan was unable to go big as he was sent packing by Reece Topley for just six runs.

With Malan’s dismissal, the rest of the top order put forth a magnificent performance to propel the Sunrisers to a mammoth total in the first innings of the clash. While Tom Abell scored 55 runs, skipper Aiden Markram went unbeaten for a score of 42 runs in 26 deliveries, and Tristan Stubbs added 56 runs on the board as Sunrisers posted a total of 204 runs in the first innings, losing just three wickets in the process.

As for Durban’s Super Giants, Keshav Maharaj was the highest wicket-taker in the first innings, with two wickets to his name. Reece Topley struck once as well and was the only other wicket-taker.

Also Read: SA20 2024 Winner Prize Money Details

Marco Jansen’s masterclass propelled Sunrisers to an emphatic title win

Aiming to chase down a target of 205 runs, Durban’s Super Giants got off to a horrid start in the second innings as openers Quinton de Kock and Matthew Breetzke were sent back to the pavilion for just 3 and 18 runs, respectively. Furthermore, JJ Smuts was dismissed for just one run with Bhanuka Rajapaksa getting out for a duck.

Wiaan Mulder’s knock in the middle order stabilized the innings for the Giants. Mulder amassed 38 runs in 22 deliveries, but the rest of the batters couldn't amount to much as Sunrisers’ bowling attack overpowered Durban.

Marco Jansen was the highest wicket-taker in the second innings with five wickets to his name; Ottniel Baartman and Daniel Worrall took two wickets each; and Simon Harmer struck once as Durban’s Super Giants were bundled out for just 115 runs, giving the win to Sunrisers by 89 runs as the side won yet another SA20 title.

Here are the best tweets from the SA20 final:

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store