Twitter Reactions: Dane Vilas leads from the front to guide Durban Heat to a fantastic win

Twitter Reactions: Dane Vilas leads from the front to guide Durban Heat to a fantastic win

Wihan Lubbe impressed once again with his 28-ball 49.

Dane Vilas
Dane Vilas. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After playing six games, the Durban Heat have finally managed to secure a win in MSL 2019. It was skipper Dane Vilas who led them from the front with a brilliant batting effort. For the Cape Town Blitz, however, it is their third consecutive loss. The same team which seemed one of the favourites to make it into the top-three at one stage is slowly drifting apart. On another occasion this season, their bowling performance has failed to impress the fans.

Quinton de Kock, the captain of the Blitz chose to bat first after he won the toss. However, he could never get going and crawled to a 15-ball 10. His opening partner, Janneman Malan played a good knock though. Along with David Bendingham, he built up a very good partnership. While the latter scored 44 off 33 balls, Malan got to a well-made 75.

Towards the end, Liam Livingstone and Vernon Philander played quickfire knocks. Thus, they managed to propel the team’s score to 181/5 in 20 overs. Kyle Abbott picked up two wickets for the Heat.

Dane Vilas and Wihan Lubbe come up with impressive knocks

The chase didn’t start off on a great note for the Durban Heat. Right in the second over, Dale Steyn sent both the openers back with two beautiful deliveries. While Wesley Marshall scored 12 runs, Alex Hales got 10. After the fall of these two wickets, Dane Vilas and Wihan Lubbe joined hands to stitch together a great partnership. Initially, Lubbe was the aggressor and took the attack to the bowlers. He was looking good for a big score and played some great shots on both sides of the wicket.

But after he got to 49 from 28 balls, Mohammad Nawaz managed to get the better of him. Dane Vilas, however, held one end tight and always ensured that he put his team in a commanding position. The skipper remained unbeaten on 75 from 52 balls in an innings that included 6 fours and 3 sixes.

David Miller remained unbeaten on 26 off 27 balls as Durban Heat got over the line with 7 wickets and three balls left. Dale Steyn was the stand-out bowler for the Blitz. In his four overs, he conceded only 25 runs.

Here is how Twitterati reacted to Heat’s win: