Twitter Reactions: Jozi Stars crowned as the champions of inaugural MSL

The Blitz couldn't carry on their rich vein of form to the all-important clash.

Jozi Stars. (Photo Source: Twitter)

A lot was expected from the final of the inaugural Mzansi Super League (MSL) between table-toppers Cape Town Blitz and Jozi Stars at Newlands in Cape Town. However, the contest turned out to be a one-sided affair as the Stars managed to win by nine wickets with five overs to spare. They were clinical ever since the beginning and never allowed the Blitz to get a foothold back into the contest.

Blitz stumble along

The Blitz won the toss and opted to bat first and the decision backfired on them for the reason that Jozi Stars restricted them to 113 for seven wickets. Quinton de Kock couldn’t deliver and was nipped out by left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks. His opening partner Dawid Malan and Kyle Verreynne tried to inject momentum into the innings, but Duanne Olivier removed Malan to separate the duo.


The Pakistan-duo of Mohammad Nawaz and Asif Ali perished for single-digit scores. Verreynne looked good and eventually fell prey to Kagiso Rabada. Skipper Farhaan Behardien also found the going tough and could score 23 runs from 22 balls with a couple of fours. Ferisco Adams and Dale Steyn churned out a couple of useful knocks of 12 and 15 respectively to add some crucial runs in the end.

No trouble for Stars

The run-chase wasn’t expected to be a hard grind for the Stars. Speedster Nandre Burger conceded five wides in the second over after Steyn conceded only one in the first over. However, Dale Steyn rattled opener Ryan Rickelton’s woodwork to reignite the Blitz’ hopes. Thereafter, the right-handed pair of Reeza Hendricks and Rassie van der Dussen put their heads down to steady Jozi Stars’ ship.

Both scored boundaries and most importantly, didn’t play too many dot balls. They turned the strike over on a consistent basis. Hendricks took his time initially but gradually managed to get going. Van der Dussen was the aggressor in the stand and remained not out on 59 from 54 balls. On the other hand, Hendricks finished with 33 from 41 deliveries. Skipper Dane Vilas hit the winning four.

Here is how Twitter hailed the Stars:

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on