Twitter Reactions: Perth Scorchers thump Sydney Sixers by 79 runs to win record fourth BBL title

The Scorchers became the first team in the league’s history to win the tournament four times.

Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers
Perth Scorchers (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)
Ankit Anand

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 1.8K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Perth Scorchers defeated Sydney Sixers in the final of the BBL 2021-22 by 79 runs. The Scorchers became the first team in the league’s history to win the tournament four times. Laurie Evans won the player of the match award for his exceptional batting performance.

The Sixers won the toss and elected to bowl first. Josh Inglis and Kurtis Patterson opened the batting for the Scorchers. In the fourth over bowled by Hayden Kerr, Sean Abbott dropped an easy catch to dismiss Inglis. However, In the next over, Steve O’Keefe dismissed the batter for 13 runs.

Nathan Lyon sent back Mitchell Marsh in the sixth over for five runs and it came as a huge blow for Scorchers. Lyon struck again in the same over and dismissed Colin Munro for one run to leave Scorchers reeling at 25/4. But then Ashton Turner and Laurie Evans added 104 runs for the fifth wicket. O’Keefe dismissed Turner for 54 runs off 35 balls in the 16th over. But Evans continued to play his shots and scored 76 runs off 41 balls and helped the team reach a score of 171 runs for the loss of six wickets.

Andrew Tye helped Perth Scorchers clinch the third title

Nicholas Bertus and Hayden Kerr opened the batting for the Sixers. In the second over, Jason Behrendorff dismissed Kerr for two runs in the second over. In the fifth over, Turner got the wicket of Nicholas Bertus for 15 runs. Ashton Agar got into the action then scalping a crucial wicket of Sixers’ captain Moises Henriques for seven runs.

Sixers lost another wicket in the 10th over as Andrew Tye dismissed Dan Christian for three runs. At the end of the 10th over, the Sixers had put 63 runs on the board for the loss of four wickets. The worst was yet to come for them as they witnessed a  massive batting collapse losing their remaining wicket for just 29 more runs. Sixers were bundled out for just 92 runs in 16.2 overs. Daniel Hughes made 42 runs off 33 balls and was the highest scorer. Apart from Hughes, only two batters could make a double-digit score.

Tye picked three wickets in three overs and gave away just 15 runs playing a crucial role in Perth Scorchers record fourth BBL title victory.

Here’s how Twitter celebrated Perth Scorchers win: