Twitter Reactions: Watson powers Chennai Super Kings to third IPL title

Chennai Super Kings beat the Sunrisers Hyderabad to win the IPL 2018.

Shane Watson
Chennai Super Kings’ Shane Watson celebrates his century. (Photo by Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

View : 5.4K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Chennai Super Kings registered an emphatic win over the Sunrisers Hyderabad to be crowned as the fitting champions of the IPL 2018. The Men in Yellow were thoroughly professional on the night that mattered the most. This is the third time that the Super Kings have won the IPL title – the joint-most by any team. In the game, they restricted Sunrisers to 178 before chasing it down

Earlier in the game, the Chennai Super Kings had won the toss and decided to bowl first. The Sunrisers Hyderabad had a poor start to their innings with Sreevats Goswami perishing early on 5. Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson then added 51 runs for the second wicket to keep the Sunrisers in the hunt. While Williamson looked sublime for his 36-ball 47, Dhawan largely struggled with 25-ball 26.

Both the set batsmen perished in quick succession and that hurt the Orange Army. Shakib Al Hasan chipped in with a quick 15-ball 23, while Deepak Hooda failed to make a mark. The innings seemed to crash away but Yusuf Pathan had other plans.

Yusuf slammed an unbeaten 45 off just 25 deliveries with four boundaries and a couple of sixes to his name. He found good support from Carlos Brathwaite who hit a quick 11-ball 21 with three sixes. The combined efforts of Brathwaite and Pathan helped Sunrisers Hyderabad finish with 178/6 in their stipulated 20 overs.

In the run chase, the Chennai Super Kings lost the wicket of Faf du Plessis early. Suresh Raina and Shane Watson added 117 runs for the second wicket to keep the run chase going. While Raina scored 32, Watson went on to score his fourth IPL ton, and his second in the IPL 2018. Watson’s masterly unbeaten 117 helped CSK ease past the target and win their third IPL title.

Here is how the cricket world reacted to the IPL final:

For theΒ latestΒ cricket news, followΒ CricTracker.