Veda Krishnamurthy axed from India team for New Zealand tour

Veda Krishnamurthy axed from India team for New Zealand tour

The team will be under new coach WV Raman.

Veda Krishnamurthy
Veda Krishnamurthy. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

After a disappointing end to their campaign in the Women’s World T20 in the West Indies, India Women’s team is scheduled to play New Zealand Women in three ODIs and as many T20Is, starting Thursday, January 24 at McLean Park in Napier. Even the White Ferns would be hoping to turn their fortunes around as they bowed out of the multi-nation event prior to the semi-finals.

In the meantime, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 15-member squad for both the 50-overs and 20-overs fixtures. Veteran batswomen Mithali Raj, who has been at the centre-stage of controversies with former coach Ramesh Powar, is also a part of both squads. The 36-year-old from Jodhpur, Rajasthan has also been persisted as the captain of the One Day team.

A newcomer in the T20I squad

Veda Krishnamurthy, who was earlier dropped from the ODI team, now has been sidelined from the T20I squad as well. Mona Meshram has been roped in as her replacement. The 26-year-old Krishnamurthy could only manage 24 runs from five matches in the World T20. Priya Puniya, the 22-year-old opening batswomen from Delhi, got his maiden national call-up.

Shikha Pandey missed out from the World T20 and he made a comeback to the T20I squad. Devika Vaidya, who had come in place of the injured Pooja Vastrakar, has been left out as well. The team will be under their new coach- WV Raman. Harmanpreet Kaur continues to be the skipper of the T20 team.

Here are the squads


Mithali Raj (C), Harmanpreet Kaur (VC) , Smriti Mandhana, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma, Dayalan Hemalatha, Jemimah Rodrigues, Mona Meshram, Taniya Bhatia, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey


Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Arundhati Reddy, Priya Puniya, Shikha Pandey

[interaction id=”5c1b7a195e0e5f368b002a78″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on