Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017, Day 7 Round up: Jharkand qualify, Haryana miss out

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: PSL)

Vidharbha are now on top of the Group A Table after they thumped Assam by 104 runs, with special knocks from their top order batsmen Jithesh Sharma and Ganesh Sathish. Siddhesh Wath and Apoorv Wankhade came to their rescue despite the trouble with the lower order. In spite of Rishav Das and Kunal Saikia’s resilience, Assam failed to pave their way through as Abhishek Chourasia rattled the Assam line up with the figures of 6/37.

Though Haryana won by 85 runs against Baroda today, they failed to capitalise the opportunity into making it to the Quater-Finals. Sanjay Pahal and Ashish Hooda shone with three wickets each despite opener Kedar Devdhar ‘s 81 that failed to place Baroda on top. Krunal Pandya was Baroda’s second highest scorer. However, Tewatia, Dagar and Saini’s fifties superseded Baroda today.


Govinda Poddar set an example by leading from the front one more time as Odisha registered a 69 run victory over Punjab. Dhiraj Singh ran through the Punjab line-up with career-best figures of 5 for 49. Shubham Gill and Anmolpreet Singh had tried to set up a foundation for them but the remaining batting line up did not cooperate.

Jharkhand have qualified to the next round. Shahbaz Nadeem registered his second fifth wicket haul and thumped J&K with 5 wickets in hand. Kumar Deobrat was their star and Dhoni remained unbeaten on 19. Owais Amin Shah and Parvez Rasool’s efforts couldn’t prevent J&K from the defeat.

Suryakumar Yadav and Aditya Tare guided Mumbai home. However, Rohit Sharma’s comeback still remains forgettable. Parthiv Patel for Gujarat, set up a rock-solid foundation as Bumrah helped with his 3 for 27. Gujarat recorded a massive 7 wicket victory over Bengal.

Mayank Agarwal and Manish Pandey along with Vinay Kumar (3/38) sealed a 2 wicket victory over Chhattisgarh. Abhimanyu Chauhan and Kaif remained the highest scorers for Chhattisgarh with scores of 62 and 39 respectively, however, they ended in the losing cause.

Brief scores:

Group A

Punjab v Odisha – Odisha won by 69 runs

Punjab 171 (Anmolpreet Singh 58, Shubham Gill 41, Siddharth Kaul 3/32)

Odisha  240 (Govinda Poddar 120, B Samantaray 48, Dhiraj Singh 5/49)


Baroda v Haryana- Haryana won by 85 runs

Baroda 181 (K Devdhar 81, K Pandya 43, Swapnil Singh 2/27)

Haryana 266/5 (R Tewatia 78, N Saini 67, A Hooda 3/32)


Vidarbha v Assam- Vidharbha won by 104 runs

Vidarbha 273/9 (J Sharma 83, G Sathish 73, A Chourasia 6/37)

Assam 169 (Rishav Das 57, K Saikia 38, P Das 3/52)


Group B

Tamil Nadu v Tripura- Tamil Nadu won by 262 runs

Tamil Nadu 337/8 (Dinesh Karthik 81, G S Raju 77, Aswin Crist 5/29)

Tripura 75 ( SK Patel 22, U Bose 4/73)


Delhi v Uttar Pradesh- Delhi won by  112 runs

Delhi 220 (Unmukt Chand 78, Himmat Singh 54, K Khejroliya 5/22)

Uttar Pradesh 108 (Rinku Singh 43, Praveen Kumar 28, A Rajpoot 3/32)


Himachal v Kerala – Kerala won by 42 runs

Himachal 255 (A Kaushik 59, S Verma 59, S Nirmohi 3/50)

Kerala 297/9 (V Vinod 92, M Azharuddeen 73, F Ahmed 4/38)


Group C

Gujarat v Bengal- Gujarat won by 7 wickets

Gujarat 172/3 (Parthiv Patel 88, BH Merai 24, J Bumrah 3/27)

Bengal (A Eswaran 37, A Gani 37, P Ojha 1/24, A Gani 1/41)


Mumbai v Goa- Mumbai won by 8 wickets

Mumbai 99/2 (Surya Kumar Yadav 40, A Tare 38, A Nayar 4/23, D Kulkarni 3/17)

Goa 95 (S Kamat 23, Darshan Misal 22, Felix Alemao 1/31)


Team Rajasthan v Andhra- Andhra won by 8 wickets

Team Rajasthan 235/7 (MK Lomror 67, T Dhillon 60, S Khan 1/27)

Andhra 236/2 (G Vihari 109, Prashanth Kumar 62, Vijay Kumar 2/17)


Group D

Services v Hyderabad- Services won by 5 wickets

Services 92/5 (G Kocchar 24, D Pathania 4/21 S Pandey 3/22)

Hyderabad 88 (CV Milind 32, M Siraj 2/31)


Jharkhand v J&K- Jharkhand won by 6 wickets

Jharkhand (K Deobrat 78, Shasheem 36, Shahbaz Nadeem 5/42)

J&K (Owais Shah 59, Parvez Rasool 45, Anshuman Singh 2/19)


Karnataka v Chhattisgarh- Karnataka won by 2 wickets

Karnataka 200/7 (Mayank Agarwal 66, Manish Pandey 34, Vinay Kumar 3/19)

Chhattisgarh 199 (Abhimanyu Chauhan 62, Kaif 39, S V Thakur 3/ 38)