Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20: Round 8, Elite Group A & B, Vidarbha vs Haryana, Dream11 Fantasy Cricket Tips - Playing XI, Pitch Report & Injury Update

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20: Round 8, Elite Group A & B, Vidarbha vs Haryana, Dream11 Fantasy Cricket Tips – Playing XI, Pitch Report & Injury Update

Yuzvendra Chahal is a big name, but hasn't done anything of sorts in the tournament.

Yuzvendra Chahal
Yuzvendra Chahal. (Photo by MARTY MELVILLE/AFP/Getty Images)

Match Details:

The Round 8 Elite Group A and B game of the 2019-20 Vijay Hazare Trophy will be played between Vidarbha and Haryana at the Gujarat State Fertilizer Corporation Ground in Vadodara.

The match starts at 9:00 AM local time (IST) (3:30 AM GMT).

Match Preview:

Haryana didn’t have luck in their favour to start with. Three of their first four matches got abandoned without even the toss. The other match couldn’t continue due to rain. However, the team, led by Amit Mishra, came out all guns blazing and won back-to-back games thereafter against Odisha and Baroda by four wickets and 58 runs respectively. They are placed third in the table.

Mishra and Co are next scheduled to lock horns with Vidarbha on Tuesday, October 8 and another win will make their road ahead in the championship much easier. Vidarbha, led by the enigmatic Wasim Jaffer, had all their first five encounters abandoned due to downpour. To add insult to injury, they lost the previous match to Punjab by seven wickets and are languishing at the bottom half.

Weather Condition/Report:

The first nine games at the venue was washed off due to rain. For Tuesday’s game, the weather looks promising. There are no chances of rain and in fact, the sun will be out throughout the duration of the match. The temperature will be around the 28 degrees Celsius and 34 degrees Celsius. The conditions won’t be humid either with the numbers mostly in the low 50s.

Pitch Condition/Report:

The pitch in Vadodara hasn’t been overly great for batting as the numbers would suggest. The strip mostly plays in favour of the team, batting second. Due to the constant rain, the deck also has moisture underneath and a side can bowl first, make use of the early bowling friendly conditions to pick some wickets at the top. After the moisture dries out, batting becomes easier.

Average first innings score: 218 (Completed List A matches)

Record of the chasing teams: Won – 4, Lost – 2

Injury and Availability News:

(Will be added when there’s any update)

Probable Playing XIs:


Faiz Fazal, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Wasim Jaffer (C), Atharwa Taide, Ganesh Satish, Aditya Sarwate, Rushabh Rathod, Akshay Karnewar, Shrikant Wagh, Akshay Wakhare, Yash Thakur

Bench: Apoorv Wankhade, Sanjay Raghunath, Akshay Wadkar, Darshan Nalkande, Ganesh Satish


Nitin Saini (wk), Ankit Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Himanshu Rana, Pramod Chandila, Jayant Yadav, Sumit Kumar, Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra (C), Ajit Chahal, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench: Rahul Tewatia, Rohit Parmod Sharma, Shivam Chauhan, Aman Kumar, Arun Chaprana, Tinu Kundu, Ravi Balhara, Yashu Sharma

Top Picks:

Sumit Kumar is Haryana’s leading run-scorer with 135 runs at an average of 135. In both matches, he has notched half-centuries. With the ball, he is their leading wicket-taker as well with eight scalps. The pacer also got a five-wicket haul versus Baroda on October 5.

Atharva Taide has had an impressive List A career thus far. In nine matches in the format, he has scored 314 runs at an average of 39.25 with a top score of 148*. The 19-year-old mostly bats in the middle order and can also chip in with his left-arm orthodox bowling.

Captain and Vice-Captain Selection:

Captain Options: Sumit Kumar, Atharwa Taide, Wasim Jaffer

Vice-Captain Options: Faiz Fazal, Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra

Suggested Playing XI for Head to Head/Small Leagues

Keeper – Jitesh Sharma

Batsmen – Ankit Kumar, Wasim Jaffer, Faiz Fazal (VC), Atharwa Taide

All-Rounders – Jayant Yadav, Sumit Kumar (C), Akshay Karnewar

Bowlers – Amit Mishra, Harshal Patel, Aditya Sarwate

Suggested Playing XI for Grand Leagues/Mega Leagues:

Keeper – Jitesh Sharma

Batsmen – Nitin Saini, Wasim Jaffer, Faiz Fazal, Atharwa Taide (C)

All-Rounders – Jayant Yadav, Sumit Kumar, Akshay Karnewar

Bowlers – Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel (VC), Aditya Sarwate


Expert Advice:

Yuzvendra Chahal has picked up only one wicket from three games at an average and strike-rate of 61 and 114 respectively. Vidarbha has an experienced batting unit and hence, he may not get a lot of wickets again. One can leave him out and pick from Harshal Patel and Amit Mishra.

Probable Winners:

Haryana should come out trumps on the backs of their strong bowling attack.

*Disclaimer: This team is based on the understanding, analysis, and instinct of the author. While selecting your team, consider the points mentioned and make your own decision.