Virat Kohli wins CEAT award for the T20 player of the year

Virat Kohli wins CEAT award for the T20 player of the year

Virat Kohli
India’s Virat Kohli celebrates after victory in the World T20 cricket tournament match between India and Australia at The Punjab Cricket Stadium Association Stadium in Mohali on March 27, 2016. (Photo by MONEY SHARMA/AFP/Getty Images)

The CEAT Cricket awards for the year 2016 were announced on Monday at Mumbai in an auspicious function. With many former and current cricketers present at the event.

England’s Joe Root who has been one of the most consistent batsmen in the year across all formats was conferred with the Ceat International Cricketer of the Year as well as International Batsman of the Year. Indian batting star Virat Kohli was named the Ceat T20 Player of the year for a brilliant season with the bat in the shortest format of the game.

Former Indian captain Dilip Vengsarkar was bestowed with the Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution to the game. He was also a part of the World Cup winning team in 1983. Vengsarkar had amassed 6868 runs in his career having represented India in 116 Tests with a staggering 17 hundreds.

Best Indian XI – IPL 2016: Indian XI of the tournament

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin won the Ceat International Bowler of the Year award while Rohit Sharma was named as the Indian Cricketer of the Year 2016.

Here is the list of the award winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dilip Vengsarkar

International Cricketer of the Year – Joe Root

International Batsman of the Year – Joe Root

International Bowler of the Year – Ravichandran Ashwin

Test Cricketer of the Year – Kane Williamson

ODI Cricketer of the Year – Martin Guptill

T20 Player of the Year – Virat Kohli

Indian Cricketer of the Year – Rohit Sharma

Domestic Cricketer of the Year – Shreyas Iyer

Young Player of the Year – Rishabh Pant

Special Award –  Ajinkya Rahane.

Also check out – Best young XI of IPL 2016