VVS Laxman picks India's most certain and improbable picks for T20 World Cup 2020

VVS Laxman picks India’s most certain and improbable picks for T20 World Cup 2020

He picked four players as certainties in the tournament next year.

VVS Laxman
VVS Laxman.

India won the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in 2007 under MS Dhoni’s leadership. However, in the next few editions, the Men in Blue are yet to get their hands on the coveted trophy, though they have qualified for the semis and finals on a number of instances. The upcoming of the mega event  is scheduled to take place from October 18 in Australia.

The Qualifiers in the UAE are done and dusted with and the teams have already been decided for next year’s tournament. After the 2019 World Cup, India have already played a couple of T20I series against South Africa and the West Indies. The team is now set to play a three-match T20I series versus Bangladesh, captained by Mahmudullah, starting Sunday.

MS Dhoni in Laxman’s list of longshots

Ahead of the opening T20I at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, former cricketer VVS Laxman tried to analyse the players’ chances of making the T20 World Cup squad next year. It’s no surprise that he went for Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah in the confirmed spots. In the same category, he went for Hardik Pandya, who is currently recovering from injury.

All four of them has a fair amount of experience, playing in Australian conditions. As per Laxman, MS Dhoni may get a chance, albeit he kept the veteran in the list of ‘longshots’. Dinesh Karthik, who lost his place from the national team after this year’s World Cup, also featured in the same list.

But he feels that Navdeep Saini may not be picked, which could raise eyebrows. Saini was exceptional in the West Indies and has also been able to crank up the pace. Laxman also thinks that Mohammed Shami, who has been excellent of late, may not got to Australia.

Here are more details  

Confirmed spots– Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah

Most certainly– Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Likely– Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar

Longshots– Sanju Samson, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Shivam Dube

Improbables– Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini

[interaction id=”5dbd8c112b2176ccbd62ff67″]