Washington Sundar to play for India Red in the Duleep Trophy final

Washington Sundar to play for India Red in the Duleep Trophy final

Tamil Nadu all-rounder Washington Sundar will play for India Red in the Duleep Trophy final.

Washington Sundar
Washington Sundar. (Photo Source: Deccan Herald)

Washington Sundar was one of the finds of the Indian Premier League (IPL) last season. He was the go to man for skipper Steve Smith. Sunder as they represented Rising Pune Supergiant and was outstanding for them. He put up his best in the business end of the tournament, the qualifier and also in the finals. Sundar not only performed in the IPL but has been doing great in the domestic circuit in the season thus far.

He was a part of Board President’s XI team for the practice games against Australia and was magnificent. He bowled 8 overs in all and snatched 2 wickets and gave away just 23 runs in the process. The teenager was to play against New Zealand A but has exited the current crop of players. Suryakumar Yadav was also one of them.

Sundar and Yadav to play for India Red

Mumbai batsman Suryakumar Yadav and Tamil Nadu all-rounder Washington will play for India Red in the Duleep Trophy final. The final of the first-class tournament is to be played from 25th September in Lucknow at the Ekana International Stadium. Unlike the previous matches, the final will be a five-day game and will be played with the pink ball.

The selectors were put in a spot of bother after having to squeeze the two players in the India Red team. Both Sundar and Yadav became available after their exit from the India A side was confirmed. The Red team will lock horns with India Blue tomorrow. The captains of India Red and India Blue are Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik respectively.

The Blues drew their first game and took a first innings lead in the second game to enter the finals while the Reds won their first game and drew the second to enter the finals.


India Red: Dinesh Karthik (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Akhil Herwadkar, Ishank Jaggi, Rahul Singh, Baba Indrajith, Surya Kumar Yadav,Washington Sundar, Vijay Gohel, Basil Thampi, CV Milind, Ashok Dinda, Siddharth Kaul.

India Blue: Suresh Raina (captain), Samit Gohel, Abhimanyu Easwaran, KS Bharat, Manoj Tiwari, Deepak Hooda, Ishaan Kishan (wk), Akshay Wakhare, Bharghav Bhat, Ishant Sharma, Pankaj Rao, Jaydev Unadkat, Sagun Kamat and Pankaj Singh.